Lemon Cranberry Whole Wheat Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
So delish!!! Very excited to have a new go-to muffin recipe! Substituted whole flax seed for ground. Used egg whites. Little bit extra apple sauce (1.5c for 2x recipe) doubled the lemon juice (2 lemons for 2x recipe) and added 1 lemon rind (could use 2 next time), used half brown half white sugar (could try using slightly less sugar next time) skim milk and 1/2 the oil. Reserved 3 tbsp of flour and tossed about 3 cups of frozen blueberries in it (instead of cranberries). 2X recipe made 76 mini muffins. Seems like a lot of mods, but this is standard for me :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
Delicious and moist! I was worried about the tartness of the cranberries - I used frozen cranberries which I halved and added two tablespoons of sugar and set aside while making the batter. I followed everything else exactly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by denise1970

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Meaford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Both hearty and delicious. I used both blueberries and cranberries and loved the result. The lemon flavor wasn't very strong, though - next time I may add some lemon zest along with the lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
Altered recipe to 1-1/2 whole wheat flour 1/2 C honey (do not like to use white sugar) 1/3 C flax seed 1/2 C whole oats 1/3 C applesauce 3/4 C chopped walnuts chopped cranberries in food processor increased lemon juice to 4 tablespoons. All else the same. We love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
Halved the recipe and made mini muffins. While they rose beautifully ( prettiest muffins I made!!), so easy to make and were really soft and bouncy, I do agree with some of the other reviewers, they lack flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DemonicMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
I make these almost every month. Love them, not too sweet, just right. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
I followed this recipe exactly as written except I didn't have applesauce so I boiled some chopped up apples with a little water and mashed it to make my own. Since it was a little lumpier it actually left chunks of apple in the muffins which was great. I also added sliced almonds and it turned out great!!! Delicious and healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KrazyKrista

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gladwin, Michigan, USA
Living In: Saginaw, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
These turned out great! I loved them as did many of my friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brittneyart

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
I do like this recipe because it is easy. When followed exactly, I didn't think it was sweet enough for me. I also didn't like the texture of the cranberries so much. I tried it again replacing the fresh cranberries with a can of "Woodstock Organic Whole Cranberry Sauce" and reduced the sugar to 1/2 cup. I made my own applesauce unsweetened from pink lady apples and added 1/2 tsp of cinnamon to the 1/2 cup of applesauce. Much better for the sweet-tooth I am. I will make it again like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
These were really good! I made some of the muffins plain, some with dried cranberries (I didn't have fresh ones) and some with dried blueberries. My husband and I both liked the ones with the dried blueberries the best. I used 3 tbs. of lemon juice because that was the amount in one whole lemon and I didn't want to waste it. I also added wheat germ instead of ground flax seed. This made 18 muffins for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States