Lemon Chocolate Drop Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Cook aus Deutschland
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
The concept of this recipe is great. However, I made the following changes so that I wouldn't have to deal with the batter being too runny: Mix together with a beater 1 cup sugar, 1/2 cup butter, 1/3 cup milk, 1/4 cup lemon juice, and 1 egg. Then add 1 3/4 cups flour, 1/2 tsp baking soda, 1 tsp cinnamon, and 1/2 tsp salt. Fold in chocolate chips at the end. This makes it so that the recipe is really a drop cookie recipe. The flavors actually do blend well together ( I have to admit I was a little skeptical at first). Thanks for the idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakland, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2003
yuck...these were flat as pancakes. it seemed like the recipe was missing something, like flour to make them not so runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2005
a wonderful light and lemony treat, bakes very well and easily too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2003
wonderful! Needs a lot more flour, though. I also added 1/4 tsp salt and a packet of instant lemon pudding mix. I also used both white and brown sugar. Wonderful flavor, I didn't need the frosting, the cookie has enough flavor by itself. Somewhat similar to pumpkin cookie in my opinion. I found the cookie to be just a bit dense too, but it didn't hinder the wonderful flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Payson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
Makes a runny batter. They were as flat as a pancake (I actually have had thicker pancakes) and were tasteless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2006
I highly commend you on your flavor combination - it has some of my favorite flavors together, and they really work! But this recipe is WAY too heavy on the liquids. I tried adding an egg to help it set... but it was still like a pancake, as some other reviewer mentioned. It needs leavening and a more balanced dry-to-wet ration. I will work on this recipe - it's worth tweaking to get it right! Keep experimenting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mamacherie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naples, Florida, USA
Living In: Seminole, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2006
Sorry, but I found the batter was very runny. I had to pour it into a pan and try to bake as bars instead of cookies. But, the batter never fully solidified. Plus, I got a small taste of the batter (after it had cooked for what seemed like forever) and it didn't taste very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2004
The recipe as followed made a very runny dough unsuitable for drop cookies. Definitely needs more flour. Very disappointing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
After reading the reviews I decided to go with one of the alternative recipes listed in the reviews. They came out so good! I wish there was more of a lemon flavor though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReallyKatie

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Deltona, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
I wish I had read the comments about adding more flour. The taste is great, but they are so thin they fall apart. I should have known better from the texture of the batter :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States