Lemon Chiffon Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
My first time trying out a chiffon cake. This recipe is fantastic! I half the recipe and used a 8 inch round cake pan instead. Thank you carol for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
Note: This review is for the cake only - I didn't make the filling. I made a trial run of this recipe while looking for a good base for a bday cake for my Chinese mom. This cake has a very similar texture to those light, airy cakes you can buy at Asian bakeries - perfect! I halved the recipe, used an 8" round pan, and baked at 350 for 25 minutes. I paired it with some fruit and stabilized whipped cream frosting, and it was heavenly! Some helpful tips: For those who are looking for in your FACE lemon flavor, be aware that the lemon in this is quite subtle, which I preferred. If you want stronger flavors, add some lemon extract along with a bit more zest. I also used half splenda and half sugar (I have diabetic family members), and it still came out great. I would highly recommend not substituting regular flour for the cake flour. One of the great things about chiffon cake is the texture. I think cake flour is what makes it so tender. Also for those who rated this recipe low because of a failed cake: there is absolutely nothing wrong with the recipe. Any failed cakes are due to personal error. If the cake comes out eggy, you're not folding the egg whites into the batter thoroughly. Make sure your batter is smooth and uniform in color before pouring it into the pan to bake. If your cake is collapsing or coming out flat, make sure that you're NOT greasing the pan. Having ungreased sides lets the cake "cling" better and thus rise higher. Happy baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2006
This is an excellent cake. I have been making chiffon cakes of different types for years. This is the best lemon one to date and have topped it with blueberry sauce which seems to be enhanced by the lemon flavor. A keeper. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2002
This cake is high and light. I made a Almond Chiffon Cake with this recipe; instead of 1 Tbp. lemon zest, I used 1 Tbp. Almond Extract. It was delicious when served with raspberries jam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2002
This is easy, light, moist, and delicious. We eat it plain as a light and lovely dessert. Adding the whipped cream frosting makes it wickedly wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2002
This cake is delicious! Even my mum told me to make some for our relatives! Its easy to make and I replace the lemon zest and pie filling with smuckers strawberry syrup and strawberries, still tastes great. This is a wonderful recipe for making different flavours of chiffon cake, juz experiment with it. I defintely making this for parties!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
I halved this recipe and baked it at 325 degrees (I have a hot oven) for 35 minutes in a 9-inch springform pan. The cake was perfectly done with just the right touch of moistness in the center. We ate it plain. It was tender, light, and not extremely sweet - perfect for a light ending to a heavy meal. Use a whisk instead of a rubber spatula for folding egg whites into the yolk mixture. It's so much faster and easier. Also, here's a tip for folding egg whites. CUT the whites into the batter, instead of using the flat side of the spatula to press them down. This DEFLATES them and cause your cake to later sink in the middle and become dense on the bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mallinda
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
I made this cake for a bake sale, so I was only able to taste the filling and some crumbs, but from my sampling it seemed as if it would be very good. I found my cake took significantly less time to bake than the recommended time and I'm glad I was keeping a close watch on it. I suggest making sure you stir your lemon pie filling well before trying to fold it into the whipped cream, otherwise you'll have some lumps. I used Jello lemon pudding and pie filling that I enhanced with additional lemon juice and zest and it was fairly stiff when set, so I did have a few lumps in the whipped cream mixture. I garnished the top with some strips of lemon zest. The cake sold for $20 at the bake sale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2004
I add up 1 teaspoon of lemon extract. And add baked coconut shredded on top. Normally I'm not big in Chiffon cake but my husband was begging for it ! And I agree it was delicious nice light mild flavor . My husband & son just called me from work,they'd die for it !! ( I packed some cakes for lunch box to go for them.) Thank you Carol for a wining prize recipe !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2001
This cake was very light and delicious. Definitley is a keeper. My family loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Lemon Cupcakes

See how to make light, lemony cupcakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States