Lemon Chiffon Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by prell2k4
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
I only make the cake part to this recipe and it was wonderful, nice and light. Did not grease the pan and had no problem getting it out. I make the microwave lemon curd and whipped cream cheese frosting from this site for the two middle layers, i put a layer of lemon curd and some of the frosting and then frosted the cake with the remaining frosting. It was great to pair the lemon with the sweet frosting. The only problem is the frosting was very creamy, but the flavor combination of it all was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by prell2k4

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Sterling, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2008
I like anything lemon so I decided to try this recipe as it had good reviews and looked yummy. The first time I baked this cake I followed the recipe closely but something was missing or maybe their was to much of something. Anyway I wanted the LIGHT fresh taste of lemon but the cake was dominated by the heavy pie filling. Since this is a good basic chiffon recipe I decided to tweak it a little. Wanting to punch up the lemon I substituted the water with 3/4 cup + 1 tbl of fresh sugar free lemonade to which I added the white sugar. This was simmered in a small sauce pan till well dissolved. Do not reduce as this will effect the texture of the cake. Also cool well or risk having scrambled eggs in the batter. After combining the dry ingredients I added the oil, egg yolks, cooled lemonade mixture and increased the lemon zest to 2 tbl. The cake was baked to recipe. Wanting a light cake I chose to top with a glaze. For this I combined a scant 1/2 cup white sugar, 1/2 cup water and the juice of 1 large lemon. This was simmered until reduced to a thin syrup. As I had a little limencello, left over from a party, I added 2 shots to the syrup and mixed well. This was drizzled over the top of the cake. You could always skip the limencello but it gives a pronounced fresh lively citrus flavor. This can also be made to taste by adding lemon zest, extract or oil as well as making thinner or thicker. Try it with orange juice, zest and liqueur. Either way it is yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
Great recipe. The first time I took some bad advice from a reviewer here. I also didn't realize that you should not use butter for a chiffon cake - it must be made with oil. So the first time, it was just like a lemon cake - nothing spongy and light about it. I retried it and followed the recipe to the letter - great success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suriya

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~S~
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
I made this cake for my daughter's birthday, and I frosted it with Special Buttercream Frosting (from this site). I added a little extra lemon zest to the cake, and for the filling, I used instant Jello pudding and pie filling, and added lemon zest to it. The filling tasted really good, but it didn't set up as much as I would have liked- I'm pretty sure it was my fault, though- I think added too much milk. Overall, it tasted great, and this is a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~S~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
Finally a light cake I can cook in Denver. Just add a little more flour and a couple T of lemon juice and it does not fall or get heavy. Thank you, I love this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2008
The recipe itself was good - nice and light and lemony. I was dubious about the 'ungreased' cake pan but thought I would give it a go. I regretted it. The cake stuck and was hard to get out in one piece.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2008
Not too sure about this recipe. I had to use olive oil for the veg oil, which I know can sometimes change a recipe, plus, I added some lemon juice to the batter, which may have altered it somewhat. It kind of had the texture and flavor of a recent white cake that I made. If I make this again, I'll try to stick to the recipe and perhaps re-rate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mallinda
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
I made this cake for a bake sale, so I was only able to taste the filling and some crumbs, but from my sampling it seemed as if it would be very good. I found my cake took significantly less time to bake than the recommended time and I'm glad I was keeping a close watch on it. I suggest making sure you stir your lemon pie filling well before trying to fold it into the whipped cream, otherwise you'll have some lumps. I used Jello lemon pudding and pie filling that I enhanced with additional lemon juice and zest and it was fairly stiff when set, so I did have a few lumps in the whipped cream mixture. I garnished the top with some strips of lemon zest. The cake sold for $20 at the bake sale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
Great basic chiffon cake. I made them into cupcakes, and I didn't have cake flour so I used all-purpose flour with a couple tablespoons of cornstarch. I didn't have cream of tartar either so I used lemon juice. Other than that, no changes - they were springy, moist, and yummy even on their own. The volume's great - the first time, I forgot to add baking powder and they were still light and tender. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lilibeth:)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
this is a very floppy and delicious chiffon,the lemon really smells well.but i suggest to reduce the egg yolk in a half off the writen recepi,try to beat first the egg whites w/the sugar until stiff,and in the other bowl,beat the egg yolks lemon extract, oil,and water until mixed well and a little stiff,then fold with the stiffed egg white gradually in three times (cut in 3 portion)then sprinkle sofly the flour w/baking powder and salt.this way,we reduce the chance of bubbles of flour,,,i suggest too to add grated lemon peel for about 2tbsp. enjoy cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lilibeth:)

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Davao City, Davao, Philippines
Living In: Wajima-Shi, Ishikawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States