Lemon Chiffon Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
I baked this cake just because I want to get rid of lemons and eggs in the fridge. It turned out exceptional great. I love it the moment the first bite got into my mount. I agree that the baking time is too much. Mine is only 25 minutes and the cake was done. Thank you so much for such a wonderful recipes. I will definitely make it again and again for many years to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
You have to be a very experienced baker for this recipe to work. As I got into it I realized I had no idea what the "peaks" meant and how to get the rind of the lemon quickly so I substituted lemon juice. By the end of cooking it it was burnt around the edges and wouldn't come off the pan. My cakes usually turn out deliscious. It was a lot of work for a cake that won't actually come out of the pan without falling apart. It could be because I didn't get the "peaking part" and therefore didn't bake it right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
I got so many compliments on this cake (made it for a bridal shower). The only change I made was to add 1 teaspoon of lemon extract to the batter and bake it in 2 9" round pans. I did find the cook time too much. I cooked it for about 20-25 minutes. Topped this with the Special Buttercream Frosting from this site (but added lemon extract to the frosting too).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HISTORYGIRL04

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Mesa, California, USA
Living In: Lakeside, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
I followed the recipe with a few exceptions. I added the lemon into the cake mix which created a melt on your tongue pleasure. I also found the cook time too long for the cake, be sure to watch for the light golden brown and check otherwise this cake will compact. Instead of strawberries I susbstituted raspberries. I made a couple of other changes to the layering and fillers. It was super in my grumpy father in law liked it... the first thing in 5 yrs I have made and he acutally went for thirds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Netters1977

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nobody'sGirl
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
I skipped the lemon-y on this recipe and added 1/2 tsp each of vanilla and almond extract. That said, in the spirit of a 'true' chiffon, I whipped both the whites AND the yolks separately (each with about half of the 3/4 cup sugar). Not to sound like an epic food snob (I'm only a cake snob, I promise), but that is the correct way to make a chiffon. Make sure to invert your pan over a bottle to let it cool (this cake WILL compress if not handled in this way). It comes out like a charm with minor encouragement once it’s completely cooled. This recipe made enough batter for my tube pan and 6 cupcakes. All that batter would have been way too much in one pan. It also only took 30 minutes to cook the full cake, and a lot less time for the cupcakes. This made an awesomely airy and fluffy crumb. It was close to an angel food cake, but not tough like a sponge. It would be lovely with the lemon filling as in the recipe, and I look forward to actually doing it that way. Follow the instructions (and whip those yolks, baby!), and you will be rewarded with a brilliant, fluffy cake perfect to ice or have plain with strawberries and cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nobody'sGirl

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
It was very good. My only negative, and it is slight, is that I expected it to be lighter and fluffier. It was not a dense cake, which was great, but I was expecting lighter. The taste was lovely, but I think that I will add lemon juice to the batter (and maybe to the frosting too) next time. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mukilteo, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
Delicious! I was in the mood to bake a cake and craving lemon so I searched online for a recipe that I could make with ingredients I have on hand. I planned on using a different icing with other ingredients I have but decided to make a last-minute trip to get heavy cream and lemon pie filling while the cakes cooled. Glad I did because it was the perfect compliment to this light and fluffy cake. I actually used two 9" pans instead of one tall 10", worked great. This recipe is going in my favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
This was almost the cake I was looking for. I did not make the pie filling cream mixture, but instead just served with whipped cream and berries. The cake had great texture, but was a bit heavier than I expected, and the lemon was almost undetectable. I will make it again, but would probably add more zest or even some lemon extract. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
The only change I made was to double the amount of lemon zest and add a little yellow food coloring because I wanted a very Lemony cake in taste and look. This was one of the moistest, silkiest cakes I've ever had. I frosted it with a strawberry cream cheese frosting and it was to die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hgrether

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lincoln, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by prell2k4
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
I only make the cake part to this recipe and it was wonderful, nice and light. Did not grease the pan and had no problem getting it out. I make the microwave lemon curd and whipped cream cheese frosting from this site for the two middle layers, i put a layer of lemon curd and some of the frosting and then frosted the cake with the remaining frosting. It was great to pair the lemon with the sweet frosting. The only problem is the frosting was very creamy, but the flavor combination of it all was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by prell2k4

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Sterling, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Lemon Cupcakes

See how to make light, lemony cupcakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States