Lemon Chicken Strips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
I am giving this a 2 star. Here's why. My hubby and one daughter loved this. Myself and 2 other of my children...didn't at all like it. I can't say I'd make this again for my whole family. But if hubby asks...I'll make it for him. I used 3 large chicken breasts and the amount of bread crumbs nor egg was enough to coat all my chicken pieces. So I added more. Which was almost 2 cups of bread crumbs and used 4 eggs. Then 15 minutes wasn't enough time to cook thoroughly for the amount of chicken chunks I had, cooked about 25-30 minutes. And then I get to the sauce. That's where I totally had issues. For me it was too lemony-sweet and barely the taste of curry. Even though I could smell it...my whole house smelled wonderful. Wished my senses agreed with my taste buds. I think if I had to try and do it again. Only to attempt. I'd reduce the sugar and--or increase the curry some. And I love love curry. And the sauce was liquidy flat, not at all like I thought it would be, I thought it would be more of a glaze when cooked. ;-( I regret and apologize, it wasn't for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: May 31, 2011
YUMMY!!!! Wasn't sure if the curry powder would overpower the lemon juice, but it was perfect!!!! The only change I made was not cutting the tenders into bite sized pieces. Very moist !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
This was yummy! I used brown sugar instead of sweetener though. Nice and flavourful and creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caddie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
easy to do and had a unique flavor. I'm planning to reduce the sugar/sugar substitute to 1/4 cup. I served with rice and black beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Breena Clarke
Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2011
Yummy!! Used half sweetener, half sugar. I'd definitely do it with all sweetener if I could. Loved it though. I'll definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elephantears

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
These are really good! The first time I made them as chicken strips and the second time I did full chicken breasts. That worked just as well! This goes really well with brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
my husband and I loved it, the kids were not so sure, but I modified some. I did not have enough lemon juice, so I used half citrus pop. The kids usually like anything with the sauce separate and they don't like to dip, so I think they'll grow to love it in time. The neighbor's kids loved it. So 5 stars from us for a yummi treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Schwabengirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort St. John, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
I like the flavor of the recipe but made a few changes. I mixed the sauce with 1/4 cup sugar, 1/2 Lemon juice, and the 1 teaspoon Curry power and then brought to a boil. I thickened the sauce with some corn starch and served it on the side. The next time I wouldn't bother with the dreading and I would just pan sear the chicken breast with a little lemon pepper seasoning and olive oil. Served it with Long grain brown rice and it was tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
Fantastic, will make again any day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matrim

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
Pretty tasty. I used panko crumbs on the chicken because I like the crunch. After I made the sauce, I sauted up some onions, snow peas and water chestnuts and added them to the sauce. I served this over shirataki noodles. The lemon was a bit strong for me so i added a dash of teriyaki sauce and some red pepper flakes for heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Roasted Lemon Herb Chicken

See how to make a simple herb-rubbed roast chicken, Italian-style.

Fragrant Lemon Chicken

See how to make a tender, juicy whole chicken in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States