Lemon Chicken Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
I'm giving it five stars because I thought it was absolutely delicious, in addition to being quick, easy, inexpensive, and super healthy! My family, however, probably would only give it three or four. (One thought it had too much chicken; another, too much vegetables!) We are, however, adding this to our cookbook to be made often. (I used brown rice, added to the water once it reached boiling. A couple handfuls of bagged fresh spinach was added toward the end, when we were ready to eat it.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOIREBRI

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Blue Springs, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2002
This soup is simple yet so delicious. The lemon makes the broth taste outstanding. (Use only fresh lemon juice.) If you like really tasty soup, then this is it. (And thanks for a rare soup recipe that doesn't use milk or eggs!) I poached the chicken breats in some chicken broth before cutting them up & adding them to soup. I added a little more rice than is mentioned. I used fresh spinach but I think you could easily use frozen & it would come out just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2005
I love this soup. It is nice and light. I leave out the spinach and carrots, make a big batch and freeze in individual containers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2006
Just loved this recipe! I couldn't use fresh lemons as recipe & reviewers suggested, which made me wonder if this could actually have been even better! Used 3T concentrated lemon juice which suited my taste buds perfectly. A "touch" of unexpected tang. Also added 2 celery ribs & 1 med. onion both chopped. A few chicken bouillon added as needed. Another reviewer made me think to use brown rice. Even added some of the broth to our dogs dinner bowl to his delight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2006
Vrey good recipe! Easy to make, and it take very little time to cook this soup. Everybody in my family liked it a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
This soup is great! My family makes the classic greek version that includes egg, but in looking at recipes that included it I knew I couldn't be bothered worrying about having the egg curdle. I made it a couple of weeks ago when I had a cold, and now I have the flu and am planning on making it again tonight (yes, I work in a school--hence, the frequent illnesses!). I left out the spinach just b/c I didn't have any and tonight I'll probably just add some scallions. Thanks for the easy, soothing recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
After making it according to the recipe, I then tried it with brown rice. It is delicious and more substantial. Vigorously boil the rice in the water about 30 minutes before adding the other ingredients. A great recipe for leftover chicken. I also use organic frozen chopped spinach rather than fresh. This goes to the e-coli issue plus making it even simpler to assemble.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
Great gluten-free recipe!!! Followed the recipe exactly and we were quite pleased with the results! My husband said it was "excellent" and that he could eat it all week! He even preferred this to a greek lemon chicken soup elsewhere on this site! This was quick and super easy to make. I think it's important that you use fresh lemons and fresh spinach as I did though to get the best flavor. Oh, and don't forget the black pepper, it really does add the perfect finishing touch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
It was fantastic. it taste like a nice homecooked tom yum soup but not so spicy. i did add some corn which made it taste a little sweeter but not that much and baby spinach was fantastic. omit the rice for a delicious no carb meal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2008
Absolutely excellent, hearty and delicious and very easy to prepare. We really enjoyed this recipe. Thank you for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Midland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States