Lemon Chicken Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
What a great tasting soup! Its such a different flavor. I changed the recipe a bit though: I started with sauted celery and onions, and along with the ingrediants the recpie calls for I added carrots, acini de pepi, sundried tomatoes, and chicken bouillion. I left out the chicken, however, and used this as a veggie side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
I'm giving it five stars because I thought it was absolutely delicious, in addition to being quick, easy, inexpensive, and super healthy! My family, however, probably would only give it three or four. (One thought it had too much chicken; another, too much vegetables!) We are, however, adding this to our cookbook to be made often. (I used brown rice, added to the water once it reached boiling. A couple handfuls of bagged fresh spinach was added toward the end, when we were ready to eat it.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOIREBRI

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Blue Springs, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
I was excited to try this recipe because it is a healthier meal than many other meals on this site. We used brown rice and less chicken. I used fresh lemons. Unfortunately, the lemon/chicken broth taste just didn't work for us. A very strange taste. I make a similar recipe based on Wedding Soup with turkey meatballs, brown rice, carrots and spinach in chicken broth that we much prefer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
After making it according to the recipe, I then tried it with brown rice. It is delicious and more substantial. Vigorously boil the rice in the water about 30 minutes before adding the other ingredients. A great recipe for leftover chicken. I also use organic frozen chopped spinach rather than fresh. This goes to the e-coli issue plus making it even simpler to assemble.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
This soup is great! My family makes the classic greek version that includes egg, but in looking at recipes that included it I knew I couldn't be bothered worrying about having the egg curdle. I made it a couple of weeks ago when I had a cold, and now I have the flu and am planning on making it again tonight (yes, I work in a school--hence, the frequent illnesses!). I left out the spinach just b/c I didn't have any and tonight I'll probably just add some scallions. Thanks for the easy, soothing recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2006
The lemon in this soup gave it such a fresh and wonderful flavor. I used orzo intead of the rice and in lieu of the chicken meat, I used a nice piece of Cod fish and let it simmer until it was just cooked thru. So good and very healthy too. Thank you Marlee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Photo by ApplePieSF
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2006
I love the taste of this soup, but I really think the instructions need some modification so that the rice and spinach aren't overcooked. Next time I will bring the mixture to a boil before adding the rice, then add the rice and simmer for 20 minutes, only adding the spinach in the last five minutes of cooking. I will definitely make this again though -- the flavor is wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2006
Vrey good recipe! Easy to make, and it take very little time to cook this soup. Everybody in my family liked it a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2006
Just loved this recipe! I couldn't use fresh lemons as recipe & reviewers suggested, which made me wonder if this could actually have been even better! Used 3T concentrated lemon juice which suited my taste buds perfectly. A "touch" of unexpected tang. Also added 2 celery ribs & 1 med. onion both chopped. A few chicken bouillon added as needed. Another reviewer made me think to use brown rice. Even added some of the broth to our dogs dinner bowl to his delight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2005
this is different and very good. the lemon flavor is nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States