Lemon Chicken Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
My husband and I had bad colds and I remembered a chicken soup we had eaten at Panerra's that was very good. So I found this one here at Allrecipes.com which was very similar sounding. I simmered some boneless chicken breasts in water with salt and some herbs. Then used that broth along with some good quality canned broth. When the chicken was very tender, I cut it into bite size pieces, and put it back into the broth. I shut off the heat and added the spinach, but no carrots. Instead of using rice I used a cup of hot cooked orzo. I squeezed some lemon juice into the broth along with the orzo, and floated some lemon slices on top. Then I turned the heat back on to very low, bringing the soup to steaming again and served immediately with crusty bread. With just these minor changes this soup is a huge winner, and great for slurping when sick with a cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
Really good soup! Simple and easy to make. I didn't get enough broth, I only had 6 cups instead of 3 quarts, I didn't reduce the other ingredients either and it still came out good. I will definitely make it again with the right amount of broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
Made this tonight, also added onions, celery and garlic powder. Turned out pretty good, I like the flavor, but still seemed like it was missing something. Maybe some garlic was that something. However, I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Hearty and Nutritious, Easy and Uses ingredients readily available. A nice soup with the addition of lemon. Adds just the right bit of something interesting/new. I added too much pepper, avoid doing that. But otherwise, delicious. Did add two stalks of celery and a can of a cannellini beans for extra protein.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kristen
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
It was really good. I did add onions, celery, bell pepper, and some corn to it. I think I added a little too much spinach but it tasted fine. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
I omitted the spinach and added celery and although the veggies are undercooked, this is one of the best soups I've ever eaten! So delicious! Great on a cold, dreary day like today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
I loved this recipe! It was nice and light-i made a pot for me and my husband to take to work during the week-i used orzo because I had it but it falls apart wierd so I will try the rice next time-it may hold up better...very tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Douglas, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mandy
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
This is a great recipe! Very simple and very delicious. The lemon adds a wonderful little zing. I added 2 stalks of celery and 1/2 tsp of garlic salt to my chicken stock and because I love mushrooms but my fiance can't stand them, I added a few slices of lightly sauteed mushrooms to my bowl. I will be making this again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
I made this today on the spur of the moment. The recipe was so simple (I left out the spinach), and it tasted delicious. Just what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
This soup is amazingly good "as is". I followed the recipe exactly other than I added an onion and it turned out soo good. The lemon isnt overpowering at all you notice that its there but it doesnt take away from any of the other flavors. Next time I think I will add a bit of celery but thats all it really needs. This soup is definitely a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States