Lemon Chicken Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
I was excited to try this recipe because it is a healthier meal than many other meals on this site. We used brown rice and less chicken. I used fresh lemons. Unfortunately, the lemon/chicken broth taste just didn't work for us. A very strange taste. I make a similar recipe based on Wedding Soup with turkey meatballs, brown rice, carrots and spinach in chicken broth that we much prefer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
After making it according to the recipe, I then tried it with brown rice. It is delicious and more substantial. Vigorously boil the rice in the water about 30 minutes before adding the other ingredients. A great recipe for leftover chicken. I also use organic frozen chopped spinach rather than fresh. This goes to the e-coli issue plus making it even simpler to assemble.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
This soup is great! My family makes the classic greek version that includes egg, but in looking at recipes that included it I knew I couldn't be bothered worrying about having the egg curdle. I made it a couple of weeks ago when I had a cold, and now I have the flu and am planning on making it again tonight (yes, I work in a school--hence, the frequent illnesses!). I left out the spinach just b/c I didn't have any and tonight I'll probably just add some scallions. Thanks for the easy, soothing recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2006
The lemon in this soup gave it such a fresh and wonderful flavor. I used orzo intead of the rice and in lieu of the chicken meat, I used a nice piece of Cod fish and let it simmer until it was just cooked thru. So good and very healthy too. Thank you Marlee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Photo by ApplePieSF
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2006
I love the taste of this soup, but I really think the instructions need some modification so that the rice and spinach aren't overcooked. Next time I will bring the mixture to a boil before adding the rice, then add the rice and simmer for 20 minutes, only adding the spinach in the last five minutes of cooking. I will definitely make this again though -- the flavor is wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2006
Vrey good recipe! Easy to make, and it take very little time to cook this soup. Everybody in my family liked it a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2006
Just loved this recipe! I couldn't use fresh lemons as recipe & reviewers suggested, which made me wonder if this could actually have been even better! Used 3T concentrated lemon juice which suited my taste buds perfectly. A "touch" of unexpected tang. Also added 2 celery ribs & 1 med. onion both chopped. A few chicken bouillon added as needed. Another reviewer made me think to use brown rice. Even added some of the broth to our dogs dinner bowl to his delight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2005
this is different and very good. the lemon flavor is nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2005
I love this soup. It is nice and light. I leave out the spinach and carrots, make a big batch and freeze in individual containers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2005
This has a nice change of flavor from regular soup. The broth has a really good tang to it from the lemon, and the carrots and spinach make it pretty and taste great. I really wanted to use wild brown rice in this but I didn't have the time to go get some, but I'm sure it'll make this soup even better the next time I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States