Lemon Chicken Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
This recipe is pretty good, and I've come up with a few variations. For a different taste, add a few cloves of garlic(to taste, I like 2 or 3), and instead of lemon juice, try lime. It feels, smells, and tastes good, especially when I have a cold or it feels like one is beginning. If I'm getting sick, I add even more garlic and lemon or lime to it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Newark, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
I LOVED this soup, looking forward to having it again for dinner ... YUMMMM! I waited and added a big bunch of baby spinach during the last 5 minutes of cooking, and also used whole grain brown rice instead of white. I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IslandJill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Christiansted, Saint Croix, U. S. Virgin Islands
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
It was okay for a lunch, but I probably would not make it again. however, I may be tainted by my husband's excellent chicken soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
I love this recipe. I ate it for three days straight when I had a cold. I add a little extra chicken and lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
I really loved this soup! I did not have any rice but I had quick cook barley. I substituted one cup of rice for one cup of barley and it was perfect. The next day when I was having leftovers for lunch I had the soup with some avocado it was really yummy!!! Thanks for the recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Guatemala City, Guatemala, Guatemala

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
This is a good starter recipe but it just needed something more. First, I added 8 oz of dry white wine. Then substituted 1/2 cup each of fully cooked brown rice, wild rice and fancy red buhtanese rice for the one cup of uncooked white rice. It got raves at a recent party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hiway61

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2008
Absolutely excellent, hearty and delicious and very easy to prepare. We really enjoyed this recipe. Thank you for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Midland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
It was fantastic. it taste like a nice homecooked tom yum soup but not so spicy. i did add some corn which made it taste a little sweeter but not that much and baby spinach was fantastic. omit the rice for a delicious no carb meal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
Great gluten-free recipe!!! Followed the recipe exactly and we were quite pleased with the results! My husband said it was "excellent" and that he could eat it all week! He even preferred this to a greek lemon chicken soup elsewhere on this site! This was quick and super easy to make. I think it's important that you use fresh lemons and fresh spinach as I did though to get the best flavor. Oh, and don't forget the black pepper, it really does add the perfect finishing touch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
This was just alright, the spinach was really slimy in it. I think if I were to ever make this again, I would probably substitute it for either frozen spinach or another hardier leafy green like chard or something. Also I think this would have been nicer with some orzo or other tiny pasta rather than the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States