Lemon Chicken Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
Great recipe. Sub turkey for chicken since I only had 1 1/2 cups cut the recipe in 1/2. I had roasted the turkey so I dripping left over. used 2 cups of this then added 2 cups of water and 2 cups of low salt chicken broth. Simmered without the spinach for a couple of hours. Just before serving I diced up the spinach put in the bottom of the bowl and added soup on top. Worked great will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nadine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
Yum! This just became one of my top two favorite soups! I used two Lemon Pepper Rotisserie Chickens for the meat so they already had some lemon flavor. Not being a fan I skipped the spinach in favor of an extra carrot. Like others I used orzo pasta instead of rice. I also added dried minced garlic and onion (because I add them to almost everything) as well as some parsley and a little rosemary and thyme. It was amazingly good and really easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by historygal22

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
I make this all the time now! It's a great summer soup. I often used canned chicken and it works great. Frozen spinach works fine as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mellie7

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
Horrible, Horrible, Horrible!!!! I will be dumping this down the sink tonight. Tastes like something out of a can WITH lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2013
A very filling and wonderfully tasty soup. It made so much we had it for dinner one day and then I had it for lunch the next several days (which was fortuitous because I came down with a cold and this soup hit the spot). I used the meat from a Costco rotisserie chicken. I added a extra carrots, little extra rice, and a little extra fresh lemon juice. For being so simple, this soup has tons of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkstevens09

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ortonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Nice, light and quick dinner for a cold weeknight. I used wild rice instead. The next day, it absorbed a lot of the broth so I may use a little more the next time. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
This was outstanding! I was looking for a variety on basic chicken soup. The lemon gives it a great zip! I took some reviewers advice & added celery. I pre-poached the chicken which worked well. I also used cooked brown rice made in the microwave with a PC rice cooker. Unbelievably good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RIELLA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
Yum! Great flavor to this soup and so easy to make. I, too, waited until I started the simmer to add the spinach and rice, and it turned out just fine. Can't wait to experiment with different little things but this is the best tasting soup I've made so far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Warsaw, New York, USA
Living In: Kenmore, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
Solid, easy, tasty soup recipe! Is it going to be as good as chicken soup totally from scratch? Of course not, but it was tasty, the lemon gave it a nice tang and even my toddlers ate it! Great recipe to keep in my back pocket for those cloudy days that beg for comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burbank, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
I liked the idea, but found that the lemon was a bit too much. I really like the taste of lemon so I thought it would be great. If I choose to make this again I will consider using a touch less on the lemon. The soup just had a very sour favor to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States