Lemon Chicken Piccata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
My whole family loves this recipe - even my picky eater. I made it for my in-laws, who were very impressed my culinary skills. It is restaurant quality and will keep in my recipe box for future use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Ok for the 1 star reviews.. when you are adding in lemon or any citric to a dish, its best to add and taste.. and not just dump in 1/4 cup of anything that has a high acid level.. as the sauce cooks down the tartness will be overwhelming.. live an learn that's my motto and I have learned a lot trying out these recipes! Here's a simple way to control the tartness of this dish: Add 6 lemon slices and taste.. want more tart.. spoon in lemon juice to desired taste. if you are cooking the sauce down, this will make it bitter, so..... take out a small bowl and add to this small bowl some corn starch ( about 1 tsp). Mix with water and then fold this into the sauce until it's thickens up. Usually takes about 3 minutes.. turn off the heat and it will set up nicely.. as you prep the plates for service.. Want to blow you guests away.. here's what I do to add an authentic ITALIAN kick to this recipe: I spice up the flour ( garlic, oregano, paprika and pepper), chiffonade basil and add 1 can of artichoke hearts ( remove oil and liquid) to the dish.. Not a fan of artichoke hearts, sliced and teamed zucchini also work well with thus dish.. Plate up raw baby spinach, place chicken on top of the spinach and then spoon on lemon sauce. Take your tongs and place on lemon slice on the center of the chicken, sprinkle with basil and serve. Want to make it a full meal.. add a side of saffron rice with roasted tomatoes and garlic and your family will love it!! Good Luck! Spence
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spencerbrown

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seal Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
Maybe a little to much lemon flavor for my tastes. It was good enough to try again with less lemon next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lil' Punkin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
The sauce was extremely bitter (I presume from cooking the lemon slices in the sauce as it reduces). I should have read through the reviews more extensively and omitted the lemon slices while simmering the sauce, as I could see the taste improving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hannah

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
This was pretty good all the way up to adding the 1/4 cup fresh lemon juice. After adding the fresh lemon juice it was just way too tart - I couldn't bring it back to the flavor prior to adding it. What a shame because the chicken was cooked well but the sauce just killed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
Chicken was great.... but sauce too lemony.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
It was easy to make and very good. I used chopped olives instead of capers, which turned out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
This sauce is BITTER. The pith of a lemon is always bitter. Never again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
Wonderful recipe. Im not sure how you can rate a recipe BEFORE you cook it...??? I doubled my sauce :) A must try :) I also added onion & used a juice to a whole lemon & used 5 cloves of garlic. And paprika to my flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by American

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by theloghomekitchen
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
This was divine, however I am rating this recipe as it is written. Due to the small size of chicken breasts available at my local grocer, I cooked them whole and they turned out beautiful. Be careful not to overcook the breasts, as they will dry out real fast if you don't watch it. I would never cook lemon "slices" in the sauce because of the bitterness of the rind. I just squeezed fresh lemon juice into the pan. The amounts listed for the sauce were just too skimpy. Next time I will at least double the amounts to yield enough for four servings. I added a heaping teaspoon of flour to the sauce to make it a little more of a "demi glace." It would have been more like runny melted butter if I didn't. All in all, it's a great recipe with some tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by theloghomekitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, California, USA
Living In: Salmon, Idaho, USA

Displaying results 111-120 (of 433) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Mango Chicken Piccata

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Sara's tangy chicken piccata.

Quick Chicken Piccata

See how to make a classic Italian chicken dish.

Creamy Lemon Chicken

Dinner’s ready in no time when you give yourself a little head start.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States