Lemon Chicken Orzo Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2015
I've been coming to this site for years. Today I registered for the sole purpose of being able to rate this recipe with five stars and say wow. Someone else said this recipe has the perfect amount of everything...I second that. It is flawless. I seared the chicken in olive oil in the dutch oven first. A bit of added flavor from the fond. This is the only thing I did differently from the recipe. What a fabulous and healthy soup. Bet you can't eat just one bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2015
If I could give this 10 stars I would! I halved the recipe (keeping the same amount of carrots and celery), and substituted Italian seasoning for the oregano. I added cubed, uncooked chicken in at the same time as the veggies and simmered for 20 minutes. Like many others, I kept the orzo separate and added to individual serving bowls. I also added the lemon juice to taste. This shot straight to the top of my list of favorite soups. Thank you so much, ReneePaj!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2015
Great recipe. Added more lemon and used wild rice instead of orzo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2015
Very good soup! I followed the recipe for the soup, except I more than doubled the chicken. We wanted a heartier soup. In the end, after tasting it I decided to add the zest of a second lemon and the juice from that lemon as well. It was very good. My husband and two sons really enjoyed it too. The sprinkle of Parmesan before serving was a must. Without it, the soup was missing a little something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marquette, Michigan, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
Made this recipe last night for dinner. It goes together very quickly for a weeknight meal and tastes great! My wife thinks it's better than the Panera version. The tang of lemon is very warming and, I think, reduces the need for as much salt. Great job, Renee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
It was very tasty after I added several scoops of Better than Broth to it. Also there is quite a bit of prep work. The lemon is a good compliment to the other flavors. My husband really liked it and he is not real crazy about soup for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
I would give this recipe more than 5 stars if I could. It is that good. So fresh, lemony, savory...really excellent. Easy to make and fast for a soup. I agree with others that you should leave the orzo out of the soup, even when storing for leftovers, because the orzo will soak up all the yummy broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
I was looking for a really delicious lemon chicken soup and was so happy to have found this one! I made no changes, other than to add additional orzo and chicken because my family tends to like soup a little "heartier". The flavors meld beautifully. It is light and tasty and everything wonderful that you would like in a soup and it satisfies that mid-winter comfort food craving! Eyes light up when this soup is served and it always gets eaten. I feel good knowing that I am serving my family a nutritious meal. I've never tried the Panera version, but now I'd like to - just to see if it's up to the standard of this version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
This was a good soup, although I've never had Panera's version to compare it to. I followed the recipe as written, but next time I think I will adjust the lemon juice to taste, as mine came out a little more lemony than I would have liked. Thanks for sharing your recipe, ReneePaj!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alma, Michigan, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
This soup was delicious! I used chicken stock instead of broth and added some chicken bouillon granules to boost the flavor. Doubled the chicken and orzo. The extra orzo did soak up alot of the stock, making it much more thick, but my husband likes soup that way. I found the 1/2 cup of lemon to be just right. I included the juice when I added the stock, giving it a chance to cook into the broth.I definitely recommend you give this a try!.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Awesome Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make an amazing homemade chicken noodle soup.

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States