Lemon Chicken II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
This recipe was great with a couple little changes. First I zested the lemon and added the zest to the sauce for a stronger lemon flavor. Also the batter needs to be thickened a bit. I also cut the chicken into bite sized pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Springville, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
This is a great recipe. The only change I made was to add fresh lemon zest. After tasting it I thought it could use a little more zing that the zest provides. The tempura chicken is very delicate and the sauce is perfect as neither overpowers the other. I served it with stir fried Manderan style veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ASTCLAIR1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by blackdonkey
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
Instead of pouring the Lemon sauce mix over the chicken, dumped the chicken pieces into the sauce mix as it began to thicken. Just as good result, this way the chicken is well covered and the sauce gets absorbed a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
Fantastic recipe! Fairly simple to make but lots of dishes to do. I did follow someone elses suggestion and doubled the corn starch and lemon juice for the sauce. I used 3 chicken breasts and followed everything else and it was enough for 2 people. If you are going to serve 6 I would triple the sauce. I also added the lemons at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KO

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Holladay, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
Delicious but omit the extra salt. With the chicken broth and the soy sauce there is no need for extra salt. The salt made mine way too salty. Other than that it was good. I am going to try the same techniques and use oranges and orange juice and make orange chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GaryChef08

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
This was delicious, my family loved it. Can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Pembroke, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
Here is a tip for those of you who said the batter didn't stick to your chicken. Try cooking the chicken in batches and keeping it warm in the oven on a cooking rack in a cookie sheet pan when done frying. You can't crowd the pan or the oil temp drops too much and it's a mess. I don't keep alcohol on hand, so I just added rice vinager in place of the sherry. I also found that adding more sugar to the sauce made it taste more like the lemon chicken that is served at Pick-up Sticks (fast food Chinese chain), though it was fine as is. With the additional sugar, my husband and I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
Love that sauce. Didn't use the chicken part of the recipe. Just served it over sauteed chicken tender pieces. Trying to save on the calories
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Carla_P
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
I would give this 6 starts if I could, my DH said it is his favourite recipe. I did make this early in the day while DD was sleeping and heated it up before dinner, and I only used the lemon juice not slices. I served this with green beans and rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carla_P

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Woodbridge, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
This is one of my fav. dishes to cook. My whole family on my mother and father sides LOVE it. This is very sweet, and the sauce is RICH. I sliced some lemmon soaked it in my sugar to get rid of the tardy then placed it with the chicken. Serve this on top of some fried rice with carrots, and it's the perfect Asian meal. Didn't have any Sherry to cook with, but plan on buying some. If your sauce doesn't turn out thick enough, just simply add a touch more cornstarch after it comes to a boil. I also battered my chicken with tempra for a more authentic taste. Had to buy it from the Asian market.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GypsyLibra

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Oxford, Mississippi, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Chicken Piccata

See how to make a classic chicken dish with a tart lemon-butter sauce.

Creamy Lemon Chicken

Dinner’s ready in no time when you give yourself a little head start.

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States