Lemon Chicken II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2000
This is the best lemon chicken recipe I've tried. My husband likes to order lemon chicken at restaurants and he thinks this recipe is great! I added a couple of tablespoons of flour to the batter recipe so that it would adhere better to the chicken. I also left the breasts whole. Very delicious! This one's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2005
This is a tempura style lemon chicken that is surprisingly similar to a famous Chinese restaurant in Dallas. The sweet lemon sauce goes perfectly with the lightly fried chicken and goes great with steamed rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2005
This was very good after a few small changes. I didn't add any extra salt to the marinade or the sauce. Cut the chicken into bite size pieces before you cook it. Also, I don't think you need extra oil in the sauce. I just mixed it all together, warmed it up a bit, and added the chicken and mixed it up. I will definitely be making this again, wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
I'm pretty confused as to why this recipe is getting such excellent ratings. I order lemon chicken quite a bit at Chinese restaurants, and this recipe doesn't come out as expected. I made the recipe, without any changes, and was disappointed. My chicken was edible, but not lemon chicken. As I suspected, the sherry in the marinade was too strong, overpowered the delicacy of the lemon, and was generally out of place in the recipe. The batter was lovely, but pretty unsuitable for the recipe, unless sauced very lightly at the last minute (anything else and such a light batter loses its crunch). Hence, the sauce should be made first, then fry the chicken and drizzle sauce over hot chicken. Lastly the sauce was lovely, but other reviewers are right, the lemons shouldn't be added until the last minute. I'll definitely make this recipe again, but this time with changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2006
This sauce was tasty & easy. I used Splenda, and will add more lemon juice next time. I also added a couple of drops of yellow food coloring. I used my standard breading method: flour, than egg, than panko (panko is great-found in Asian food section}, put in refigerator for about an hour after breading.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2005
Great and easy recipe. I did not use nearly as much oil as suggested. I just put 2 tbsp of olive oil to coat the wok and then stir fried the chicken. It came out great and probably not nearly as fattening. Thanks for a very tasty recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2003
Really tasty! I added about a tablespoon more of each lemon juice and cornstarch. I cut up some large pieces of ginger to steep in the sauce while it was warming through and I also used some lemon marmalade I made earlier this year instead of the cut up fresh lemon. Everyone really liked it. The flavor of the chicken was right on and with the sauce it was just wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Wichita Falls, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
This recipe was great with a couple little changes. First I zested the lemon and added the zest to the sauce for a stronger lemon flavor. Also the batter needs to be thickened a bit. I also cut the chicken into bite sized pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Springville, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2005
The batter was very thin, barely coating the chicken pieces. The sauce was great, though I recommend adding the lemon slices after thickening and not before. I will make the sauce again but will look around for a better batter recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Packwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2005
The batter was awful - next time I make this I'd use a different batter - I would also pound the chicken breasts out a litte thinner. The sauce was very good and very easy to make - I added more lemon juice than the recipe called for as I like LOTS of lemon flavor. If we could give 1/2 stars this would be a 3 1/2 - the one has lots of potential!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Lemon Chicken

Dinner’s ready in no time when you give yourself a little head start.

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Fragrant Lemon Chicken

See how to make a tender, juicy whole chicken in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States