Lemon Chicken II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
I liked it. My husband hated it. I've honestly never seen him NOT finish a meal for the most part. He's not a picky eater. I guess this did have a funny tang. BUT I finished it, so I'll give it 3 stars for that. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fountain Hills, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
This was wonderful! The whole family loved it. I made the following changes based on suggestions from other reviews: added no salt, cut chicken into smaller pieces before cooking, and added a small amount of flour to batter. I also made these changes on my own: added about 1 tsp of lemon pepper to the marinade and doubled batter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda J.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Burlington, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rocks
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2006
Very good, the sauce is really nice and not sour at all. The flavor of the lemon juice is very light but you can't miss it. Make sure you soak the chicken on paper towels after you take it out of the oil!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rocks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2006
Totally yummy, comparable to take-out! Like many other reviewers, I cut the chicken before the marinade. I also made extra sauce and served it over angelhair pasta. To get the chicken crispy I fried it in the 2 cups of oil til medium golden brown- it was perfect! The sauce was a little bitter- next time I'm going to put the lemons in the last minute or two instead of the full cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hamiltonmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2006
This sauce was tasty & easy. I used Splenda, and will add more lemon juice next time. I also added a couple of drops of yellow food coloring. I used my standard breading method: flour, than egg, than panko (panko is great-found in Asian food section}, put in refigerator for about an hour after breading.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
I like the idea of this recipe, but it didn't turn out for me. First, I changed the batter (cup of flour, one egg, enough cold water to make it runny) and that was good. I cut my chicken up before I battered it and fried it. I served it on spaghetti noodles that were tossed with a little sesame oil so they wouldn't stick. That was the good part of the meal...the sauce didn't taste good. I did not like the salty taste of the broth with the sweet taste of the sugar...and it never thickened for me. But again, I like the idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2005
The batter was very thin, barely coating the chicken pieces. The sauce was great, though I recommend adding the lemon slices after thickening and not before. I will make the sauce again but will look around for a better batter recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Packwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2005
This is a tempura style lemon chicken that is surprisingly similar to a famous Chinese restaurant in Dallas. The sweet lemon sauce goes perfectly with the lightly fried chicken and goes great with steamed rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2005
Great and easy recipe. I did not use nearly as much oil as suggested. I just put 2 tbsp of olive oil to coat the wok and then stir fried the chicken. It came out great and probably not nearly as fattening. Thanks for a very tasty recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2005
This was very good after a few small changes. I didn't add any extra salt to the marinade or the sauce. Cut the chicken into bite size pieces before you cook it. Also, I don't think you need extra oil in the sauce. I just mixed it all together, warmed it up a bit, and added the chicken and mixed it up. I will definitely be making this again, wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Lemon Chicken

Dinner’s ready in no time when you give yourself a little head start.

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Fragrant Lemon Chicken

See how to make a tender, juicy whole chicken in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States