Lemon Chicken II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
This was a good recipe and one I will make again. It may even keep my husband from going out for Chinese! I did make a few changes. I cut up chicken into strips, coated and fried. I added a tsp of fresh minced ginger and increased lemon juice to 5 Tablespoons. I stirred all the ingredients in a pot and heated to low simmer for 4 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
So completely wonderful! I am an American girl living in the UK and crave all things American so this recipe was such a blessing. I thought it might be hard to make but it was so simple and absolutely delicious, even if I was in America I would still make this recipe it's that good! A keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Loveland, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Melisa Richbourg
Reviewed: May 15, 2011
I read reviews before starting recipe. I cut and marinated chicken before cooking. Based on other reviews, I did not add salt to marinating chicken. I used about 3/4 to 1 cup oil in a cast iron skillet and cooked in batches, held in the oven at 150 until all was done. I poured sauce over chicken before serving as suggested by one reviewer but sauce did not penetrate coating enough. Next time, I will do as original recipe suggests and toss chicken and sauce together before serving. Overall an excellent recipe that you can play with. I'm going to try it with my homemade General Tsao sauce. The batter was fabulous and not sure why another reviewer found batter too delicate. This was just like a good Chinese buffet. I added lemon zest and doubled lemon in sauce. This meal was devoured by all. It got a suburb rating from both 8 yo son and DH. I did find that I had to salt the meal when eating and would salt chicken while marinating when I do this recipe again this week. Would have given 5 stars but chicken should be cut before cooking to maximize batter coating and flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melisa Richbourg

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sweet sakura
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
I made a lot of changes to this recipe. Everyone said they didn't like the batter so I did my own, flour with lemon pepper seasoning. I marinated the chicken in 3 Tbs. soy sauce, 1 tsp. sherry, 1 tsp. ginger root, and 2 tsp. lemon zest. Also, I thought the sauce should have been sweeter, like orange sauce, but for lemon, so I added juice from 2 lemons, and added a lot of sugar, like 2/3 cup. When the chicken was done frying, I tossed it in a large mixing bowl with the sauce and some lemon slices, it was seriously good, my husband told me this recipe was a keeper, thanks for the great idea, sorry I made so many changes to this recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweet sakura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Hemet, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
This was a very simple straightforward dish. The flavor was very good, I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cushing, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Thank you so much for posting this recipe. It tastes just like a lemon chicken dish that my brother loved when we lived in Hawaii. He passed away 11 years ago and I have been looking for a recipe that resembled it. While I was making this, I knew it was the one by the smell and look of the sauce and immediately got choked up and called my family and sent them the recipe. It tastes wonderful, I wouldn't change a thing!! Thanks again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
This recipe was great with a couple little changes. First I zested the lemon and added the zest to the sauce for a stronger lemon flavor. Also the batter needs to be thickened a bit. I also cut the chicken into bite sized pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Springville, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
This is a great recipe. The only change I made was to add fresh lemon zest. After tasting it I thought it could use a little more zing that the zest provides. The tempura chicken is very delicate and the sauce is perfect as neither overpowers the other. I served it with stir fried Manderan style veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ASTCLAIR1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by blackdonkey
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
Instead of pouring the Lemon sauce mix over the chicken, dumped the chicken pieces into the sauce mix as it began to thicken. Just as good result, this way the chicken is well covered and the sauce gets absorbed a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
Fantastic recipe! Fairly simple to make but lots of dishes to do. I did follow someone elses suggestion and doubled the corn starch and lemon juice for the sauce. I used 3 chicken breasts and followed everything else and it was enough for 2 people. If you are going to serve 6 I would triple the sauce. I also added the lemons at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KO

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Holladay, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Lemon Chicken Piccata

See how to make a classic chicken dish you won't want to miss.

Creamy Lemon Chicken

Dinner’s ready in no time when you give yourself a little head start.

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States