Lemon Chewy Crisps Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
I had no lemons so I used lime, and they tasted amazing. Good recipe. The only problem I have with them is that they're a little thin. I made 3 different batches on different days with different temperature butter and it seems they all turned out thin. Nicely Done, though. A+
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
i asked my 7&9 year old what to rate this cookie and they chimed together give it a 5... we totally enjoyed this cookie. I let my 7 year old do most of the mixing, an i let her put them on the cookie sheet... so they had a fluff in the middle like a pillow and a light crisp edge DELICIOUS WITH MY COFFEE... I WANT TO EAT THEM ALL..the only alteration was adding more lemon... just guesstamating.. juice and zest... no measuring
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
Very tasty. I followed the recipe, except to double batch. The zest and juice of one lemon per batch worked well. Yummy and great with tea. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KERI KENNELLY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
I really liked this recipe because it was a very flavorful bright cookie! I was really amazed by how lemony it was, but it wasn't overpowering, Great job!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fran

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, California, USA
Living In: Hercules, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
Wow! Best lemon cookie recipe to date! I put in 2 tablespoons of lemon juice by accident, and the lemon flavor came through strong, but not overpowering. Sweet, crispy on outside, chewy inside, and the perfect amount of lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
If you're looking for a really lemony cookie, this isn't it. I don't care for lemon zest, so I added about 1.5 - 2 tsp. lemon extract, and 2 drops of yellow food coloring. The texture was exactly as stated, "a chewy cookie with a nice crisp brown edge". But a good lemony taste just wasn't there. I doubled the batch as others suggested, but my cookie-eating family ignored these. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
Did not use nuts (bf cannot have them) or top with sugar (save on calories). Felt something was missing - needs the nuts, sugar or some kind of icing to be 5 star. Liked size of batter and easy prep.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
These were really good right out of the oven, but I was a little less impressed on day 2 and 3.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
following the recipe as is and its kind of a mess - very sticky dough that still behaved poorly after refrigeration. spreads out a lot during baking. i just can't justify the the work of this recipe for the results of the cookie. i was really hopeful as i was looking forward to a lemon-flavored cookie to put out with my others during the holidays, but this doesn't cut it. the dough is still sitting in my refrigerator a week later - I only bake one dozen and quit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bec
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
I gave this 4 stars as is; however, I have made some changes that I think solves the problem many reviewers have mentioned about the cookie not being lemony enough. Instead of adding lemon juice, I used 2-1/2 tablespoons of frozen lemonade concentrate and I think it is lemony enough. I also used 1/2 teaspoon of almond extract instead of the vanilla extract and I added a couple more tablespoons of flour. Then I chilled my dough for about 45 minutes before baking. If you want the cookies to be fancy looking, you can roll the dough into 1 inch balls; then flatten the balls to about 1/4 inch thick using the bottom of a glass that has been moistened and dipped in granulated sugar. Lastly, used almond slices that are not broken and arrange three almond slices like spokes on a wheel and press them in slightly. This makes them look elegant. Oh, and I also chilled the cookies for about 10 minutes right before putting them in the oven. That part may not be necessary, but I thought it would keep them from flattening out too much. I only baked mine for 8 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Lemon Square Bars

These traditional lemon bars have a lovely buttery crust and sweet-tart filling

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States