Lemon Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 15, 2008
This recipe turned out great, with my own modifications. I made the graham cracker crust from scratch and I added 1 tsp. lemon zest to it. I also substituted the egg substitute for 2 eggs. It kind of takes away from being low fat, but it tastes better. The cheesecake turned out excellent on its own, but it did need something. So I made a lemon-blackberry sauce. Here is the recipe: 2 C. blackberries, 2 tsp. vanilla, 1/4 C sugar, 1/4 C water, 1 tbsp. lemon juice. Combine all ingredients, while the sauce is cooking smash the balckberries with a masher. Bring the sauce to a boil and simmer on low 10 minutes. Strain the berry sauce over a bowl. The sauce in the bowl will be seedless and very yummy over the cheesecake. I made 4 of them over the Easter holiday and they were a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GuineaPigGirl
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
Absolutly wonderful! I made a few revisions as did others, I couldn't find lemon yogurt so I used plain yogurt and added extra lemon zest, I also used two whole eggs. I used a homemade graham crust in a springform pan which I sprayed with PAM before adding the batter to prevent it from sticking to the sides and cracking in the middle along with the use of a water bath. I was surprised my cake baked perfectly in only 30 minutes! Will defenitly make this time and time again. I finished it with a thin layer of Cool Whip and lemon zest curls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GuineaPigGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
This is delicious. I didn't use lowfat ingredients though. Used 2 eggs instead of egg substitute and vanilla yogurt instead of lemon. It was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ismene

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
Excellent with modifications. I made a crust out of graham crackers and butter, adding in about a tsp of lemon zest. I used low fat Yoplait lemon yogurt -- it's only 6 oz. so I added about 2 oz. of lemon curd. Also, added about a TBS of lemon zest to the pie itself to make it really lemony. I used regular cream cheese which made it very creamy and two regular eggs. Needs the sour cream topping as suggested by another reviewr. Really good and lemony. A water bath is recommended below the pie to avoid cracking. I've had requests to make this again and will update!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
I made this recipe and definitely will again. I found the lemon flavor a little too light for my tastes so I added a thin layer of lemon pie filling on the top. It also made it look a little prettier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
Yum! I added the zest from the lemon. This is a terrific recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara B.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ozark, Missouri, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2007
Great recipe. I wish I read reviews first because I think it would of been better if I added in lemon rind. I wanted more of a lemon taste but it was still delicious. I did use two regular eggs and baked mine with a tray of hot hot water on the shelf below it in the oven. Mine baked in 45 min. No cracks and it looked beautiful topped with dollops of cool whip and fresh lemon slices. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brewster, New York, USA
Living In: Dover, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 10, 2007
My family loved this recipe. It's really easy and, if you want to change the flavor, you can use different flavored fat free yogurts. I've tried strawberry and vanilla, and they were both great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2007
Unbelievable! This cheesecake is SO good. It reminds me of the lemon cheesecake I used to always get at The Cheesecake Factory until the discontinued it. I made only minor changes to the recipe: I added the zest of one lemon, used crushed Nilla Wafers for the crust instead of graham crackers because I prefer the flavor, and I used two eggs instead of the egg substitute. I baked it using the water bath technique described in one of the allrecipes.com articles. This is phenomenal cheesecake. I can't wait to make it again. You really can't go wrong with this. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2006
Wonderful! I used 2 eggs in lieu of egg substitute. Also baked it in ramekins (crustless) in a water bath following the "all recipes" hints for cheesecakes (water bath, jiggle test, texture photo etc). Prior to serving, topped it with Blackberry preserves and fresh blackberries and served for brunch dessert. Will make again. Super easy and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheesecake Lemon Bars

Part creamy cheesecake, part light lemon bars—it’s the best of both worlds.

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States