Lemon Cheese Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
Great recipe! I used a D.H. Butter recipe cake mix w/ a box of instant lemon pudding. I baked two 9-inch layers and cut them in half to equal 4 layers. I got rave reviews from everyone! I also left the zest out of the filling b/c the lemon juice was sufficient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Honeydew~

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sylvester, Georgia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2002
this is a wonderful, moist cake. not dry like so many scratch recipes. finally, a moist lemon cheese cake!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Lagrange, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2002
This recipe is wonderful, and the filling is exactly like my mother and grandmother used to make. I had lost my recipe and was sooo thankful to find this. I use a white cake mix and use the filling as listed, and the cake is so moist! A real crowd pleaser, and many compliments will follow when you serve this cake!! sallyrt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2005
I tried this recipe twice. The first time I used banana instant pudding (It was the only pudding in the cupboard)and it turned out fantastic. I used lemon cake mix instead of the yellow cake mix. My friends loved it. The second time I used cheesecake instant pudding with lemon cake mix. Wow! My family loves it. It's been added to the family favorites list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Accokeek, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2003
Very good recipe, best if cake is made from scratch. Lemon Cheese Cake is an old favorite here in the south. I have asked several ladies who have been making this cake for countless years why a cheeseless cake is so named? They haven`t a clue, all say that it was passed on them. It`s a misnamed delicious tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
Fantastic cake! I like to use cake batter from scratch because the flavors are complemented.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYOFZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dothan, Alabama, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TSIMS001
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
This is a excellent Lemon Cheese Cake. Just for those wondering, lemon cheese is another term for lemon curd. This is very similar to my grandmother's old country recipe and it passed my father's taste test. I followed the recipe as is with one note: I do not stand and stir the lemon cheese the entire time....it takes entirely too long for that! I keep an eye on it and stir it every 5-10 minutes with my whisk. It does take about 30 - 45 minutes for the lemon to thicken, so be patient, it will be well worth it! Remember, the lemon cheese will continue to thicken as it cools. I also cut each layer in half and poked holes so the lemon cheese filling would ooze through the cake. It is extra good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TSIMS001

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
Excellent cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cupcake Princess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2008
My grandmother has made this for years and years, and refused to share the recipe. Thank you so much for sharing! It is wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sylvester, Georgia, USA
Living In: Macungie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2009
I can't believe that there is actually a cake called LEMON CHEESE CAKE! My grandmother has a recipe like this (not cake mix) but my sister and I always wondered why it was called what it was called. WE LOVE THIS CAKE - love it love it love it. (I like it when the filling is a little grainy - not completely smooth - sorta like a crust). You don't want to leave the ZEST out, it's so good... adds even more zip! It's really good with the zest and worth it. (matter of fact we like it with bigger zest, not the tiny)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerri

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States