Lemon Cheese Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by TSIMS001
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
This is a excellent Lemon Cheese Cake. Just for those wondering, lemon cheese is another term for lemon curd. This is very similar to my grandmother's old country recipe and it passed my father's taste test. I followed the recipe as is with one note: I do not stand and stir the lemon cheese the entire time....it takes entirely too long for that! I keep an eye on it and stir it every 5-10 minutes with my whisk. It does take about 30 - 45 minutes for the lemon to thicken, so be patient, it will be well worth it! Remember, the lemon cheese will continue to thicken as it cools. I also cut each layer in half and poked holes so the lemon cheese filling would ooze through the cake. It is extra good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TSIMS001

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2002
There is nothing quick, easy, or kid-friendly about making the "lemon cheese" filling. It took about 30 minutes of non-stop stirring. I don't have a clue why she called it "lemon cheese cake" and refers to the filling as "lemon cheese filling" when there is no cream cheese whatsoever in either the filling or the cake itself. Despite the misleading title, the cake itself is extremely moist. The filling is very good and lemony, the consistency and appearance is like a lemon meringue or lemon tartlet filling. One person remarked that it was "too tart" but everyone else who ate this cake said it was perfect. The cake was devoured, which says it all. =) FYI, I frosted the cake with a cream cheese/whip cream frosting and patted coconut all along the side, I think it was a good mix of flavors. Overall this is a very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EMI1Y

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2002
This recipe is wonderful, and the filling is exactly like my mother and grandmother used to make. I had lost my recipe and was sooo thankful to find this. I use a white cake mix and use the filling as listed, and the cake is so moist! A real crowd pleaser, and many compliments will follow when you serve this cake!! sallyrt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2003
Very good recipe, best if cake is made from scratch. Lemon Cheese Cake is an old favorite here in the south. I have asked several ladies who have been making this cake for countless years why a cheeseless cake is so named? They haven`t a clue, all say that it was passed on them. It`s a misnamed delicious tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2007
Thank you for posting this recipe. My mom used to make this. It was one of our favorites. Yum! She always said it was a very old recipe, but I don't remember her recipe having flour in it. But to add some info about the name of the cake: Lemon cheese, a British term, is the same thing as lemon curd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2002
this is a wonderful, moist cake. not dry like so many scratch recipes. finally, a moist lemon cheese cake!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Lagrange, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: May 28, 2008
My grandmother has made this for years and years, and refused to share the recipe. Thank you so much for sharing! It is wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sylvester, Georgia, USA
Living In: Macungie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
I made this cake over the weekend. Family thought the cake layers were wonderful(I used lemon instant pudding), but everyone thought the icing was too tart. My husband thought I read the recipe wrong and put in too much lemon juice. Next time I will cut lemon juice in half. My Mom made a cake like this when I was young and it was always a hit(icing was not as tart).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
Fantastic cake! I like to use cake batter from scratch because the flavors are complemented.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYOFZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dothan, Alabama, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2005
I tried this recipe twice. The first time I used banana instant pudding (It was the only pudding in the cupboard)and it turned out fantastic. I used lemon cake mix instead of the yellow cake mix. My friends loved it. The second time I used cheesecake instant pudding with lemon cake mix. Wow! My family loves it. It's been added to the family favorites list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Accokeek, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States