Lemon Cheese Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2007
Thank you for posting this recipe. My mom used to make this. It was one of our favorites. Yum! She always said it was a very old recipe, but I don't remember her recipe having flour in it. But to add some info about the name of the cake: Lemon cheese, a British term, is the same thing as lemon curd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
This was good! We did end up throwing out the last little bit because it was pretty big and it dried out after a couple of days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
I made this cake over the weekend. Family thought the cake layers were wonderful(I used lemon instant pudding), but everyone thought the icing was too tart. My husband thought I read the recipe wrong and put in too much lemon juice. Next time I will cut lemon juice in half. My Mom made a cake like this when I was young and it was always a hit(icing was not as tart).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2005
I tried this recipe twice. The first time I used banana instant pudding (It was the only pudding in the cupboard)and it turned out fantastic. I used lemon cake mix instead of the yellow cake mix. My friends loved it. The second time I used cheesecake instant pudding with lemon cake mix. Wow! My family loves it. It's been added to the family favorites list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Accokeek, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2003
Very good recipe, best if cake is made from scratch. Lemon Cheese Cake is an old favorite here in the south. I have asked several ladies who have been making this cake for countless years why a cheeseless cake is so named? They haven`t a clue, all say that it was passed on them. It`s a misnamed delicious tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2002
This recipe is wonderful, and the filling is exactly like my mother and grandmother used to make. I had lost my recipe and was sooo thankful to find this. I use a white cake mix and use the filling as listed, and the cake is so moist! A real crowd pleaser, and many compliments will follow when you serve this cake!! sallyrt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2002
There is nothing quick, easy, or kid-friendly about making the "lemon cheese" filling. It took about 30 minutes of non-stop stirring. I don't have a clue why she called it "lemon cheese cake" and refers to the filling as "lemon cheese filling" when there is no cream cheese whatsoever in either the filling or the cake itself. Despite the misleading title, the cake itself is extremely moist. The filling is very good and lemony, the consistency and appearance is like a lemon meringue or lemon tartlet filling. One person remarked that it was "too tart" but everyone else who ate this cake said it was perfect. The cake was devoured, which says it all. =) FYI, I frosted the cake with a cream cheese/whip cream frosting and patted coconut all along the side, I think it was a good mix of flavors. Overall this is a very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EMI1Y

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2002
this is a wonderful, moist cake. not dry like so many scratch recipes. finally, a moist lemon cheese cake!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Lagrange, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 11-18 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States