Lemon Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
I made this cake for my mother's birthday and she loved it - we all did! I followed the recipe exactly and had no problems. Delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
This turned out very dense and much heavier than I expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
Tasty as is, but I made some taste & texture changes. >>>For the cake, I used lemon cake mix; added lemon juice & lemon zest; whipped the egg whites to soft peaks. This batter was very stiff, so I added milk until the batter was more like regular cake batter. I avoid dairy, so used coconut milk. Rice, soy, or almond milk would also work but change the taste. >>>For the topping, I increased the lemon extract and the milk (coconut milk again). I don't like sugar-free products so used regular instant vanilla pudding mix (3.4 ounce package). Note that even though I used non-dairy milk in the topping, the frozen whipped topping does have some dairy in it. >>>My picky eaters (mother, husband, and two young adult sons - yeah, poor me!) all loved it. >>>Exact amounts of my changes are in MyRecipeBox http://allrecipes.com/customrecipe/64199787/super-lemony-lemon-cake/detail.aspx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
My family loves this cake. I put it in a 9x13 every time and it is perfect. I also make a strawberry version. Change the cake mix to strawberry and the pudding to strawberry creme and omit the lemon juice for in the icing. A chocolate version with crushed Heath Bar on top is very yummy as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
I took the advice from some of the reviews I read and used Duncan Hines lemon cake mix, and a small box of Jell-O Brand lemon pudding mix. I used one egg and 2 egg whites, I substituted a forth of a cup of the water for bottled lemon juice, and I followed the cooking directions as noted and my cake fell. I mixed it one minute on low and four minutes on high. I don't know what went wrong. I preheated the oven, but used a nine by thirteen pan, because I didn't have a ten by fifteen pan. I WANT try to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pontiac, Michigan, USA
Living In: Waterford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
Made this for a picnic and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
The cake wasn't lemony enough for me. If I had read all the other reviews I would have used the lemon cake mix instead, but I simply followed the directions as written. Also, the frosting wasn't lemony enough for me either, I could still really taste the cool whip, which (I know I'm weird) is a flavor I don't care for. Still, I liked the concept and I will try the cake again. I might substitute chocolate for lemon in this recipe and see what happens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
Best lemon cake I have ever had!! Amazing! Be sure to use lemon cake mix and lemon pudding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
I have made this recipe twice and both times everyone loved it. The first time I made it I used white cake mix and lemon pudding mix. I had lemon frosting on hand and used that. I followed the other reviewers' advice to make sure the cake was mixed for the right amount of time and used a 9 x 13 pan. The cake was super moist. The lemon frosting give it an extra lemon flavor. The second time I made the cake I used lemon cake mix and lemon pudding mix. I made the frosting with whipped topping and lemon pudding mix. It also came out moist and with a great lemon flavor that is not overpowering. Thank you LaDonna for this wonderful recipe. It will be my go to recipe when I want to make a lemon cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
it is great and good for dinner partys
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaylee Southwind

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 272) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States