Lemon Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
Big hit at our house,everyone loves it and brother-in-law always requests it when he comes to visit.Made the cake as a layer cake and I did not have any problem with it,the frosting is really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly, including beating it for as long as the recipe states, and while it tasted fine, the consistently was more like an over-baked cheesecake. Just too gooey and dense to call it cake. Bummed because I doubled the recipe. I make cakes every week, and I won't be keeping this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda J.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Apple Valley, California, USA
Living In: Pinon Hills, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
Excellent i used lemon cake, lemon pudding (not vanilla) Real lemon juice & whipped cream
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
Perfectly light, refreshing cake. Wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
Made this for Easter. I used a lemon cake mix and then followed the above instructions. For the frosting, I used lemon pudding and fresh squeezed lemon, since I didn't have zest, and folded it in to the cool whip. It was so good. Everyone loved the cake. It was moist and lemony and light. Will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
I made this yesterday for our family Easter dessert and it was a HUGE hit. We all had to have seconds. Wonderful, simple to make, light and spongy and just the right amount of "lemony"!! This recipe is going into my "keepers"!! Thanks LaDonna !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whittier, California, USA
Living In: La Mirada, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
Bummer!! I was hoping my cake would turn out as great as the others, but it was a mess. Tasted more like a warm pudding than anything else. Perhaps I undercooked it, but I had to make an entirely new cake bc this was a mushy mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
I have used this recipe a lot. But I have a problem with the frosting not being thick enough. It is always runny even when I fold in the whipped cream. So I chill it and than it is thick enough to frost. I follow the attached recipe and I'm just wondering if there is a typo with the milk amount. Very delicious cake though now my daughter wants this to be her birthday cake instead of chocolate. I appreciate any help on this! Mary from Minnesota
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
Unfortunately my cake didn't rise but it tastes delicious--very dense and moist! I baked it in a 9x13 pan and the height is a little over an inch, so I cut in in half to make 2 squares. I spread lemon pie filling over one layer, topped that with some of the frosting, added the top layer and frosted the whole. Extremely lemony and good--I'm wondering if the fact that I used packaged 100% egg whites instead of actual eggs made the difference...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Orland, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
I wanted the cake to be almost completely sugar free so I used sugar free yellow cake mix and sugar free lemon pudding (both of which I got at my local King Soopers store). Besides those two changes I followed the recipe for this cake to a tee and it came out AMAZING. The cake was really moist and it didn't crumble or anything. The topping was extremely delicious. My coworkers gobbled the cake up really quick. I am going to try this recipe again, but with sugar free chocolate cake and sugar free banana cream pudding to make a chocolate banana cream cake. I hope it comes out as delicious as this one did. Thanks a ton for the great recipe LaDonna ^_^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 260) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States