Lemon Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 2, 2012
I made this cake for the first time today. It was wonderful. Very easy. I used lemon cake mix and lemon pudding. In the filling and in the cake. I used fresh squeezed lemon in the filling in exchange for 1/3 of the water. I also used 1 whole egg and 2 whites instead of 3 whites. I used fresh squeezed lemon instead of extract. It was a great success . Best Lemon cake ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anitavan65

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
This recipe turned out completely flat! I followed the recipe exactly except for adding a teaspoon of lemon zest. The taste was flat and so was the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
Yummy! But for even more lemony deliciousness use a lemon cake mix in place of the yellow mix - you will be so happy you did! I also added some fresh lemon juice to the water (totaling the 1 3/4 cups called for in the recipe) and some lemon zest. This is so refreshing, light and delicious there won't be a crumb left on the plate, guaranteed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
I made a two layered version with a lemon cake mix and used a rasperry spread with a raspberry jello packet mixed in between the two layers....was sooo good and a huge hit at the birthday party. I was sad that I didnt have any left to take home so already have the supplies to make it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
This cake is super yummy and moist, it almost has a cooling effect when you bite into it. This will be a repeat in my line up for sure, I also crumbled up some lemon cookies on top for a little extra depth. Very refreshing dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
I made this for Easter and it was delicious. I too used a lemon cake mix and substituted an 8 oz carton of real whipping cream for the frozen whipped topping. I whipped the cream and added about 1 tablespoon of sugar and some fresh lemon zest before adding to the rest of the frosting ingredients. This cake will be my new favorite for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
I've used this many times over!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Georgetown, Texas, USA
Living In: Leander, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
Pretty good flavor, nice and light overall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betty Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indiana, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Chantilly, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
I made this because I was craving a lemon cake and my favorite recipe is from scratch, but I didn't have time for that. I was a little concerned about the texture from reading reviews but it was wonderful. I used a yellow cake mix, a small package of pudding (lemon) instead of the larger one because I picked up the small by mistake, and I added 1/4 cup of oil and used 3 whole eggs (I was not concerned about fat/calorie content for this occasion). I used fresh lemon juice from four lemons in place of part of the water. I did not use the frosting in the recipe so I cannot comment (I subbed a cream cheese lemon frosting). I made two 8" rounds and used no-sugar-added blackberry jam as a filling between the layers. It was amazing and fast -- I am not one to like anything from a box but this, I would do again. The only thing I'd do differently, especially if I were taking the cake to an event, is probably double the recipe -- even the 8" round layers were pretty thin and it made a very petite cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
This is very worth making. I really loved the dense texture of this cake. I was working on a birthday cake for my grandmother with instructions to make it a lemon cake. It doesn't bake up very high, so I ended up doing two 9"x13" layers with blueberry pie filling in the middle. Used a lemon cake mix, added the juice of two lemons as part of the water requirement and also zested the lemons into the batter. Also added a teaspoon of lemon extract. Instead of the topping here I did a swiss meringue buttercream. SO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 276) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States