Lemon Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
I love lemon and this was soooo yummy! I, too, used Lemon cake mix, and I used instant lemon pudding for the frosting. I then made this in 2 9x13-in pans and layered them, using a can of Lemon Pie Filling I found in my pantry. I took this to treat day at work and had none left over. I know it was delicious simply by the number of requests for the recipe. I will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
This was so good and so easy! I made it for my husband's birthday and did a layer cake with 2 9-inch rounds. I made it exactly as written except I used lemon cake mix and used 2 whole eggs instead of 3 egg whites. It cooked in about 24 min. I didn't notice any aftertaste at all in the frosting, surprisingly, because usually I detest "sugarfree" stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Fultondale, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
Really good - I modified for a teacake - like dessert. I made per the directions but I only put about half of the batter into a 9x 13 lined with parchment. When cooled, I cut out circles with a narrow wine glass so that they fit a regular-sized cupcake cup. I then topped with the frosting and refrigerated. It served well with cake balls as a dessert. It did not rise a lot but I wanted it that way. Very spongy and nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
bleck
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Lemont, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
this is so moist!! Great recipe, easytoo. I didn't have a 1 ounce paskage of pudding for the frosting so I used a 3/4 ounce package and it was fine. It's a "do over " in my house.~ I think next time I'll do a chocolate one for the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
This cake is so awesome! Everyone loved it, and it was super easy to make. I also appreciated how it was on the light side, too. I used lemon cake mix, and I think it was perfectly lemony. I made it in a 9x13 pan and it came out fine. I used extra frosting (it was great frosting, too!) to decorate with raspberries. It was more on the spongy side because of the pudding, but that made it unique from the light tea- style cake that I was expecting. I think it has something to do with how long you beat it for. Thanks, I'm keeping this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Indiana, USA
Living In: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
My husband loves lemon cake, and the lemony-ness of this one was a hit! I'm not familiar with 1oz. packages of pudding mix, and couldn't find any, so I used the regular 3.4 oz. pkg of instant lemon pudding mix, and increased the milk to 1 cup. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dubaubel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
Used lemon cake mix and pudding mix as mentioned before. No big issues with the cake rising properly due to thorough mixing. Added zest and juice from real lemons to the topping instead of extract. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
I didn't have a 10 x 15 pan so I used my 11 x 17 and cut the cake into 4 layers. I frosted between layers and it makes a beautiful 4 layer cake. It doesn't raise high at all so making the layers worked great for me. I make this cake often and everyone loves it..they think I bought it from a high end bakery!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 264) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States