Lemon Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
This is a dense cake, more like a pound cake which I liked even though it didn't rise as I hoped, I baked it in layers. After tasting the batter,I added additional lemon extract. I also frosted a light layer of lemon curd on the top of each layer before I frosted it with the whipped topping mixture. It was still disappointing, as far as lemon flavor was concerned. I wanted something more tart, kind of 'hit you in the face' lemon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
This is a good cake and surprisingly dense (the pudding I suppose!). I liked the frosting, which was just light and perfect. Like others, I used a lemon cake mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
5 star recipe! I'm sorry but I would never add oil or whole eggs to this recipe as was previously mentioned. It was so delicious as is. Very moist and just the right amount of lemon flavor. I made this for my sons 25th birthday (he wanted something out of the ordinary and I'm always up for something new.) He said this was the best cake he ever had! I will definitely be making this cake often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
I baked this cake today expecting to be wowed because of the many positive reviews but was somewhat disappointed. I followed the recipe except I used lemon cake mix instead of yellow. The cake turned out rather flat and dense. I whipped my own cream topping and added the vanilla pudding and lemon extract. I thought that was good but I like a stronger lemony taste so next time I will use lemon pudding instead of vanilla. I liked the concept of the cake so next time I will not skimp on calories. I will give it another try baking but next time I will bake it the traditional way with whole eggs and oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
I made this cake for a birthday party for my stepmom and everyone loved it. It was moist, light and the frosting was a big hit. I made it as directed and it came out perfect. I will make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
I love lemon and this was soooo yummy! I, too, used Lemon cake mix, and I used instant lemon pudding for the frosting. I then made this in 2 9x13-in pans and layered them, using a can of Lemon Pie Filling I found in my pantry. I took this to treat day at work and had none left over. I know it was delicious simply by the number of requests for the recipe. I will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
This was so good and so easy! I made it for my husband's birthday and did a layer cake with 2 9-inch rounds. I made it exactly as written except I used lemon cake mix and used 2 whole eggs instead of 3 egg whites. It cooked in about 24 min. I didn't notice any aftertaste at all in the frosting, surprisingly, because usually I detest "sugarfree" stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Fultondale, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
Really good - I modified for a teacake - like dessert. I made per the directions but I only put about half of the batter into a 9x 13 lined with parchment. When cooled, I cut out circles with a narrow wine glass so that they fit a regular-sized cupcake cup. I then topped with the frosting and refrigerated. It served well with cake balls as a dessert. It did not rise a lot but I wanted it that way. Very spongy and nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
bleck
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Lemont, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 269) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States