Lemon Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
This cake was light and delicious. I used a smaller pan (instead of the sheet cake pan) so you do have to cook it longer. As others suggested, I used a lemon cake mix and then lemon pudding for the frosting. I used fresh lemon juice and put some lemon zest in the frosting. As a topping i put blueberries and strawberries. I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill
Home Town: Ithaca, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
I prepared this for my friends and myself and it was delicious! They could not stop raving about it and they took most of it home when they left! It surprised me because it was so easy and delicious! Great with a summer meal! I topped the icing with whole fresh blueberries and took it to another level!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2013
Not great. This cake came out very dense and bland. I used lemon cake mix as well as lemon pudding mix in the frosting. I wouldn't make this cake again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
great and easy recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
Made this for mother's day. Used Lemon Cake Mix but otherwise made as written. Well, almost. I prepared a Lemon Curd as a filling, however will chill next time before placing top layer. The pudding cake is so dense and moist that it squished out all of the lemon curd so it was a bit more like a sauce than a filling, but it was really delicious! Will make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
Fantastic cake! I used lemon cake mix & lemon pudding, and I also sprinkled a tad of lemon zest on each one after frosting them (I made cupcakes for my son's 7th birthday party). They were a huge hit! Very moist and fluffy, and super easy to make. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luna13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
Just a suggestion but what about using Jello Lemon or Lemon Cream instant pudding instead of Vanilla! I often make Lemon Cream instant pudding, throw in some fresh blueberries and crush Archway Shortbread Cookies (I think they're better than Walkers!!!!) Oh, and add 4 oz of Marscapone to instant pudding after it's made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
I added some fresh lemon juice and zest to the topping. Made cupcakes and an 8x8 cake for Easter- delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: New Cumberland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
This is a dense cake, more like a pound cake which I liked even though it didn't rise as I hoped, I baked it in layers. After tasting the batter,I added additional lemon extract. I also frosted a light layer of lemon curd on the top of each layer before I frosted it with the whipped topping mixture. It was still disappointing, as far as lemon flavor was concerned. I wanted something more tart, kind of 'hit you in the face' lemon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
This is a good cake and surprisingly dense (the pudding I suppose!). I liked the frosting, which was just light and perfect. Like others, I used a lemon cake mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 267) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States