Lemon Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
Unfortunately my cake didn't rise but it tastes delicious--very dense and moist! I baked it in a 9x13 pan and the height is a little over an inch, so I cut in in half to make 2 squares. I spread lemon pie filling over one layer, topped that with some of the frosting, added the top layer and frosted the whole. Extremely lemony and good--I'm wondering if the fact that I used packaged 100% egg whites instead of actual eggs made the difference...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Orland, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
I wanted the cake to be almost completely sugar free so I used sugar free yellow cake mix and sugar free lemon pudding (both of which I got at my local King Soopers store). Besides those two changes I followed the recipe for this cake to a tee and it came out AMAZING. The cake was really moist and it didn't crumble or anything. The topping was extremely delicious. My coworkers gobbled the cake up really quick. I am going to try this recipe again, but with sugar free chocolate cake and sugar free banana cream pudding to make a chocolate banana cream cake. I hope it comes out as delicious as this one did. Thanks a ton for the great recipe LaDonna ^_^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
I am the first to admit, I am NOT a baker. Cakes have always intimidated me (not sure why really). My husband has been begging me to make him a cake, more specifically a Lemon cake, so after scouring the internet for over an hr I settled on this recipe. I read most of the reviews prior to starting this endeavor and so glad I did. Here are the tweaks I made...I, too, used lemon cake mix (instead of vanilla). My husband was very specific on "wanting it lemony" so I used 1 cup water and 3/4 fresh lemon juice (about 5 lemons). I also made this in 2-9in cake pans, cooking about 25 min. I used 1 egg and 2 egg whites (the cake did turn out pretty dense like a pound cake). I didn't have lemon extract, so used 1/2 tsp lemon zest (thank GOD for google). Best part of all, I used real heavy whipping cream (1 pint) instead of cool whip. As an experiment (yeah i live on the edge as a rookie) I took 1/4 or so of the whipped topping and mixed with about 2 tbsp of red raspberry preserves and put in the middle layer (of the 2-9in cakes) SO GOOD! Even my picky picky husband was impressed. Kudos to me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leahmarie121

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Albany, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
My guy (a lemon cake fan) really liked the cake itself. I switched out the yellow cake mix for lemon but otherwise baked it as instructed. It took 40 min for the toothpicks to come out clean. This rose nicely in the oven but fell when it cooled. The result was a dense cakey brownie consistency. I didn't care for it at all, especially when I wasted egg yolks on it. I made the frosting with the lemon extract, regular instant lemon pudding, and homemade sweetened whipped cream. Oddly enough this was my favorite part. The topping is a nice touch but next time I might leave out the pudding mix entirely and just make lemon sweetened whipped cream for a topping. Some fruit might help too- some sort of berry I would think. My guy didn't care for the topping though. Go figure. This recipe gets 3 stars across the board. If it were up to me I would score it lower but the mister, a known picky eater, liked it so I have to give credit for that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
This cake is amazing just as is! The fat free whipped topping is actually even better than regular in this recipe! I am constantly being asked by relatives and coworkers to make this cake, it is so good. And since it's so easy, I don't mind :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
Wonderful Cake! This cake tastes like a little bit of sunshine. I made it for our daughter's birthday and my mother loved it so much that she requested I make it for her birthday as well. I used 2-9" round pans and the trick is to really let the cake cool completely before constructing it with the frosting/topping. As for the frosting/topping - I used Lemon Instant Jell-O pudding rather than use lemon extract. It is our new "go to" recipe for a fantastic cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Brought it to my company's monthly birthday celebration and it was a huge success! Everyone loved it:). It was easy and baked beautifully in my 9.5 x 13.5 pan. I Made sure I beat it the full 4 minutes. Raised beautifully and very moist. On my winner list!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Too fake tasting, no natural lemon coming through at all, even when using lemon pudding mix, 1/2 lemon juice instead of water and lemon extract in both the cake and frosting. Also, the lemon cake mix said it already included pudding. Not sure if that affected the baking time, but it took more like 40-45 minutes for 2 8" rounds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
I am a huge fan of lemon cake, and this was absolutely the best. I am so excited to serve this for our company tomorrow! Fabulous recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
I made this cake last night and it was amazing. I added some lemon juice and lemon zest to the cake mix and I substituted the water for buttermilk, which I had in the fridge. Also, like others did, I used a lemon pudding for the topping, lemon zest and a little lemon juice along with the cool whip and mixed it all up. The cake was light and fluffy. I baked the cake in a decorative bundt pan. My guests all wanted seconds. This is a great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 273) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States