Lemon Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
it seems so delicious! i'll bake it soon! anyway thanks for uploading this recipes! =]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
The changes I made: lemon cake instead of yellow, lemon pudding (not sugar-free, instead of vanilla for the topping), and no lemon extract in the topping. I baked the cake in a 9x13 pan, it is the biggest I have. My husband and oldest son went WILD for this cake. I thought it was a bit too sweet (but can't really figure out a way to decrease the sugar, since everything is pre-packaged), but still very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ladyinthewoods
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
I've been making this cake for years, my family loves it! I also make this using a lemon cake mix....very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
I was surprised at how absolutely delicious and moist these were. I also used lemon pudding mix in the frosting and subbed some lemon juice for water. I don't do dairy, so soy milk worked just fine in the frosting. This made 18 cupcakes and one 8x8 cake for me. I could never eat just one; very dangerous for the waistline to keep around!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colleen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Avon, Ohio, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
Simply delicious. Great texture. I spread each cake round with a thin layer of lemon curd - before frosting it. As I do not like the frozen whipped toppings, I used an alternative frosting from Epicurious (#100975) which was amazing. Whipped cream, powdered sugar and lemon curd. Very light - and PERFECT. YUM!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
Not at all worth the praise it's received. Weird texture. Crisp top, creamy center. Didn't hardly rise at all. Completely bland. Used lemon cake with lemon pudding and somehow they taste like nothing. Frosting has no body. It's the texture of watery soft finger paint. It's runny and not very sweet. Lemon pudding, plus extract, plus zest, but it's still rendered tasteless by the whipped topping base. Tried to stiffen it with 2 cups of powdered sugar, and it's still runny and eerily light. Cake and frosting together was like inhaling high calorie air. No taste, no texture, waste of calories. Waste of time and energy. Glad this is my test batch before my real party because these tasteless air bombs will not be served. Just plain gross.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
Everyone loved this cake. I made two cakes and layered them with raspberry preserves between the layers. I used 1/4 cup of lemon juice and 1.5 cups water. Also lemon cake mix. I frosted with sturdy whipped cream frosting from this site. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
Delicious. I tried this cake, making only a few minor adjustments. In the batter, I added a couple of tbs fresh lemon juice in place of water, as well as lemon rind. For the icing, I used real whipped cream, no pudding mix, but folded in some more lemon rind and 2 tbs. seedless rasberry jam. The cake itself was lovely, moist, flavourful and dense. I didn't try the original icing recipe, as I don't like the artificial taste of the cool whip. My brother who is a professed "hater of all things lemon" actually ate 2 slices. If that doesn't tell you it's good, don't know what will! Great summer recipe. Super easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stefani k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 29, 2011
Excellent! Awesome! The perfect summer cake. This recipe is simple enough to use to make several flavors of cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mcewen, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Columbia, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
I am not a baker but made this for a good friends birthday, everyone LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 269) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States