Lemon Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2015
I made this cake wrong by accident and it still came out great. I was in a hurry and my little kids were "helping" me. The recipe doesn't differentiate between the cake ingredients and the frosting ingredients, so I accidentally added the milk to the cake ingredients. I added it again to the frosting. I was worried on how it would turn out as we had a group of people coming to dinner, but everyone raved about it. I think I will make it wrong again next time. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2015
Something is DRASTICALLY wrong with this recipe!! I think it's the amount of lemon pudding mix. The recipe says to use 1 (3.4 oz)package of instant lemon pudding mix in the batter. I couldn't find a 3.4 oz box of lemon pudding mix, so I used three 1 oz. packages. The batter was MEGA thick. I baked it anyway, but it is not good!!! Now I have to start over. Good thing I have a lemon cake mix in the pantry. So much for "experimentation".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
I prepared this recipe and added an extra drop of lemon extract. I also added some lemon rind to the whipped topping and it was delicious. I baked it in the pan that the recipe called for, then cut in half, and then prepared and frosted as a layer. Cake. Prepared for my mother and father-in-law and they loved that it not only tasted great, but was also light. Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lulu0523

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
I am so sad ! I baked this for my mil's bday because lemon cake is her favourite. I know she tried so hard to eat it and be nice and say it's nice. I tried it and wanted to spit it up. The taste was so gross and artificial and It was not light and fluffy.. It was wet and dense. I followed the recipe except for the lemon cake mix and lemon pudding for the whip along with the lemon juice addition for the cake. I should've followed my gut instinct! How could boxed mix + pudding mix taste fresh? :( I had no idea why it would have such rave reviews. :( so sad for me..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
This recipe was amazing. I don't even like lemon! I added half a lemons worth of juice and zest instead of the lemon flavor for the frosting and it was perfect. Used other's suggestion to use lemon cake mix and also added additional zest and juice to the batter. Make sure you mix the cake for recommended time and you should have no problem with it not rising. Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
It was pretty good, i made a simple lemon cream cheese frosting, instead of whipped...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
I followed the others reviews and used lemon cake mix, added lemon juice, and used lemon peel. Great and refreshing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hudson, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
I followed the directions to a T, and the results were very disappointing. The texture is very odd, the the flavour is just as unappealing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
I made this cake for my mother's birthday and she loved it - we all did! I followed the recipe exactly and had no problems. Delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
This turned out very dense and much heavier than I expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 280) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States