Lemon Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
This recipe was amazing. I don't even like lemon! I added half a lemons worth of juice and zest instead of the lemon flavor for the frosting and it was perfect. Used other's suggestion to use lemon cake mix and also added additional zest and juice to the batter. Make sure you mix the cake for recommended time and you should have no problem with it not rising. Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
It was pretty good, i made a simple lemon cream cheese frosting, instead of whipped...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
I followed the others reviews and used lemon cake mix, added lemon juice, and used lemon peel. Great and refreshing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hudson, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
I followed the directions to a T, and the results were very disappointing. The texture is very odd, the the flavour is just as unappealing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
I made this cake for my mother's birthday and she loved it - we all did! I followed the recipe exactly and had no problems. Delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
This turned out very dense and much heavier than I expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
Tasty as is, but I made some taste & texture changes. >>>For the cake, I used lemon cake mix; added lemon juice & lemon zest; whipped the egg whites to soft peaks. This batter was very stiff, so I added milk until the batter was more like regular cake batter. I avoid dairy, so used coconut milk. Rice, soy, or almond milk would also work but change the taste. >>>For the topping, I increased the lemon extract and the milk (coconut milk again). I don't like sugar-free products so used regular instant vanilla pudding mix (3.4 ounce package). Note that even though I used non-dairy milk in the topping, the frozen whipped topping does have some dairy in it. >>>My picky eaters (mother, husband, and two young adult sons - yeah, poor me!) all loved it. >>>Exact amounts of my changes are in MyRecipeBox http://allrecipes.com/customrecipe/64199787/super-lemony-lemon-cake/detail.aspx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
My family loves this cake. I put it in a 9x13 every time and it is perfect. I also make a strawberry version. Change the cake mix to strawberry and the pudding to strawberry creme and omit the lemon juice for in the icing. A chocolate version with crushed Heath Bar on top is very yummy as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
I took the advice from some of the reviews I read and used Duncan Hines lemon cake mix, and a small box of Jell-O Brand lemon pudding mix. I used one egg and 2 egg whites, I substituted a forth of a cup of the water for bottled lemon juice, and I followed the cooking directions as noted and my cake fell. I mixed it one minute on low and four minutes on high. I don't know what went wrong. I preheated the oven, but used a nine by thirteen pan, because I didn't have a ten by fifteen pan. I WANT try to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pontiac, Michigan, USA
Living In: Waterford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
Made this for a picnic and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 276) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States