Lemon Cake with Lemon Filling and Lemon Butter Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
I used this recipe for the filling and frosting... I used some lemons a friend gave me.... The filling and cake came out WAY TOO TART/SOUR!!! Not sure if it was the home grown lemons or the amount of lemon juice & zest. I think it would be really good if you use SWEET lemons and be careful not to use too much. I used a white box cake to save time and insure a good texture. Also, next time maybe I wouldn't add lemon to the icing....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
The only change I made to the recipe itself, and this is not extreme, was adding about 1 tablespoon of lemon zest to the cake batter. Fantastic and lemony confection-as it should be. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stubborn cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
Good, but I would make a few adjustments next time. Like other reviews I felt like the cake was a bit heavy. However the lemon curd filling was absolutely incredible, as was the icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
The frosting was simply way too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
I have wanted to make this for a long time. It was worth waiting for. The only thing I did differently was use 4 8" pans, and baked for 12 minutes. I did line the bottoms of the pans with parchment paper before greasing and flouring after reading that some people had issues with the cakes sticking. My guests and hubby and I all loved it. Will make again. The perfect spring dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bathurst, New Brunswick, Canada
Living In: Bracebridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by usernamelogin
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
I tried to make this recipe twice after failing two times. I did everything the recipe said and tried again a second time to ensure that I did not do anything wrong. The filling was really good and lemony. However, the cake was extremely dense in a bad way. It was hard and not moist and turned out to be eggy. I would recommend making the cake itself out of chiffon cake or sponge cake if you're looking for that light and airy layered lemon cake. I used the buttercream icing and it was good too I didn't add the milk because it'd get too watery and I only used about 3 cups sugar and added some cream cheese to taste. For those who don't want their icing to be too sweet due to the icing sugar without losing the consistency, try adding about a teaspoon or so of salt (and no you won't taste the salt.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by usernamelogin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
Fantastic! I have made a different recipe of lemon curd before and the instructions from that recipe had you pour the curd through a fine mesh strainer, which I did with this recipe of lemon curd as well. It was nice and smooth. I doubled the frosting recipe because I do not like to scrimp on the frosting. It was more than I needed and next time I will just increase it by 50%. I followed the suggestion of another reviewer and did a "crumb" layer of frosting when finishing off the cake. This made the cake very easy to finish frosting. It is very impressive when you slice it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISTINE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Encinitas, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
I made this into cup cakes and injected the filling they were to die for good!! everyone loved them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by busymommie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
WOW! This is SOOOOO good. Took it to the office, rave reviews. I put it in a 9x13 instead and doubled the filling amount (didn't use all of it, but needed more than one batch to cover that surface). The filling and frosting are absolutely amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
Excellent, even though I did the lazy, low fat version. I only used the cake portion of this recipe & filled it with sugar free instant vanilla pudding mixed with a teaspoon of lemon extract. I lightened up the cake using apple sauce instead of butter, subbed in agave nectar & eggs beaters, and added one teaspoon lemon extract. Even the non-cake-fan hubby liked it =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristykk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montross, Virginia, USA
Living In: Oakton, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 341) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Lemon Cupcakes

See how to make light, lemony cupcakes from scratch.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States