Lemon Cake with Lemon Filling and Lemon Butter Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
Very good, the frosting was really sweet and I put a bit of a raspberry glaze between the layers that was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
AMAZING RECIPE! For one of my many family get-togethers, I was in charge of cupcakes. Knowing that my father loved lemon, I came upon this recipe. Making the cupcake was easy, just fill the cupcake with the filling after they are finished cooking, then ice! Everyone loved them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2011
Really tasty, lots of lemon flavour. A few things that kept me from giving 5 stars: 1) The cake was just a little dry. I would have liked it to be a little lighter and springier. 2) The lemon filling was just a little too thick/dense and I wished there was just a bit more of it (it was quite thin when spread out) 3) I prefer a slightly creamier and fluffier frosting. This frosting was just a little heavy on the dense/sugary side for me. In all, the whole package came off as feeling quite dense and heavy when I would have preferred it to be slightly lighter. But really none of that was any major flaw and I really liked it. My husband doesn't like sugar frosting at all, so after the party, I got to eat all the leftovers, haha.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
This cake is fabulous! I made it today and the only change I made was adding more lemon juice and lemon zest into the frosting. The filling is delightfully tart and compliments the super sweet frosting wonderfully. My boyfriend loved it and I will definately be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
I love lemon cake, and I loved making this, but there was one small thing that made me not want to eat this. I hated the lemon zest. There was too much of it in the frosting and the filling. I don't really think the zest has ANY impact on the flavor at all, and it's way too stringy and annoying and bad tasting. If I were to make this again, I would make it without the zest so that I wouldn't have to eat around the frosting and filling.. and this cake took me way too long to prepare for me to just eat around the lemon part. (4 hours..) But besides all of that, I really liked the cake. The lemon taste is really good and sweet. I recommend this for anyone who loves lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alyssa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
Good tasting cake! The filling was great, and although I don't think there was enough, the icing had a great flavor, too. The cake was a little dense ... it was hard to slice the two sections into halves. They ended up being too thin and crumbling in some sections. Doesn't change the flavor, though ... yummy! I also did the crumb frosted the cake, chilled it, then added remaining frosting to give it the perfect look. Great cake! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristina Hooker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2011
Very disappointed by this cake. I needed a lemon cake so I made this recipe. Where was the lemon in this cake??? Am I missing something? I added lemon zest and 1/2 cup of lemon juice to the batter. When it came out it had not risen at all and was dense & dry. It was more of a pound cake or coffe cake. I would give this 1 star except it was a decent coffee cake to dip in your coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mcqueenbee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Auburndale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2011
Yum. Only changed recipe by replacing 1/4 cup of milk with lemon juice and adding 2 t. lemon zest in the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
I made this cake exactly as directed, but used cake flour. My cakes did not rise very much, so I didn't cut them and decided to just go with 2 layers. I put the lemon curd in the middle and it all just dripped out of the sides of the cake. I refrigerated it to help it stay together and it helped some. Then I frosted it all and tried to get it all to stay together. The cakes turned out to be overly dense. I think I will make this again, but with a different white cake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seelymo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Photo by Jenn76
Reviewed: May 1, 2011
Excellent recipe. Loved the butter cream frosting. Workded out very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn76

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Okarche, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 352) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cupcakes

See how to make light, lemony cupcakes from scratch.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States