Lemon Cake with Lemon Filling and Lemon Butter Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 15, 2011
This cake is fabulous! I made it today and the only change I made was adding more lemon juice and lemon zest into the frosting. The filling is delightfully tart and compliments the super sweet frosting wonderfully. My boyfriend loved it and I will definately be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
I love lemon cake, and I loved making this, but there was one small thing that made me not want to eat this. I hated the lemon zest. There was too much of it in the frosting and the filling. I don't really think the zest has ANY impact on the flavor at all, and it's way too stringy and annoying and bad tasting. If I were to make this again, I would make it without the zest so that I wouldn't have to eat around the frosting and filling.. and this cake took me way too long to prepare for me to just eat around the lemon part. (4 hours..) But besides all of that, I really liked the cake. The lemon taste is really good and sweet. I recommend this for anyone who loves lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alyssa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
Good tasting cake! The filling was great, and although I don't think there was enough, the icing had a great flavor, too. The cake was a little dense ... it was hard to slice the two sections into halves. They ended up being too thin and crumbling in some sections. Doesn't change the flavor, though ... yummy! I also did the crumb frosted the cake, chilled it, then added remaining frosting to give it the perfect look. Great cake! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2011
Very disappointed by this cake. I needed a lemon cake so I made this recipe. Where was the lemon in this cake??? Am I missing something? I added lemon zest and 1/2 cup of lemon juice to the batter. When it came out it had not risen at all and was dense & dry. It was more of a pound cake or coffe cake. I would give this 1 star except it was a decent coffee cake to dip in your coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa2roberto

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Auburndale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2011
Yum. Only changed recipe by replacing 1/4 cup of milk with lemon juice and adding 2 t. lemon zest in the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
I made this cake exactly as directed, but used cake flour. My cakes did not rise very much, so I didn't cut them and decided to just go with 2 layers. I put the lemon curd in the middle and it all just dripped out of the sides of the cake. I refrigerated it to help it stay together and it helped some. Then I frosted it all and tried to get it all to stay together. The cakes turned out to be overly dense. I think I will make this again, but with a different white cake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seelymo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Photo by Jenn76
Reviewed: May 1, 2011
Excellent recipe. Loved the butter cream frosting. Workded out very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn76

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Okarche, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
love this recipe, my husband loves his lemon cake. I made several times already. to have a short cut, I use boxed lemon cake mix, but make the filling and frosting from the fresh lemons, they are just wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
Everything about this recipe was amazing! I added a little more lemon juice to the frosting instead of lemon zest but that was all I changed. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
Delicious.. I love lemon curd, and didn't have time, so I made it with the jarred curd from the store.. very good... it is a strong lemon for the filling, so don't do what I did and take liberties to add more unless you are a lemon fanatic... it was a little overpowering, but that was my fault, not the recipe's! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leitchfield, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 339) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cupcakes

See how to make light, lemony cupcakes from scratch.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States