Lemon Cake with Lemon Filling and Lemon Butter Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
I tried a lot of cake recipes and this is the best one. I only made the cake and frosting, it is taste very good, except it is little too sweet for me. I will use this recipe again next time and cut down 1/4 cup of sugar for the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
This turned out amazing! i really loved it and so did my whole family!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
I did not use the cake recipe however the lemon icing and lemon filling are wonderful just as written! The icing is very sweet and powerful so you have to like lemon!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
Not impressed. The curd was way too tart. the buttercream was tasty though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krista Donahue

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Franklin, Indiana, USA
Living In: Vista, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
I made this for a party a while back. It was my first attempt at homemade everything, and it turned out great! My cake decorating skills left something to be desired, but it tasted so good I don't think anyone cared. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
My family just LOVED this cake and so did I.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
Awesome recipe and came out DELICIOUS, but my only suggestion is to make sure you make the FILLING first, before you do the cake or anything because it needs to be refrigerated for 3 hours..so it makes sense to do the the filling first, then the cake, then the frosting. I added more lemon juice and more lemon zest in the filling and the frosting to make it extra lemony. Great for summer time, light, and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
This is a wonderful cake! It's lemony and the sweetness (of the cake base) would be just right if you halve it! The filling is aromatic and extremely rich in lemon, an ideal for lemon lovers! The cake is delicious and flavorful (i substituted 1/3 milk for lemon juice) though it was too dense and didn't rise well, even when cake flour was used. An improvement on the cake base would be helpful to perfect the cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
This cake is just ok. I followed the instructions completely yet my frosting was too runny and ran off the cake. The cake itself is just mediocre and too dense for my liking. The lemon filling layer is absolutely fabulous though. That being said, I will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candy Cane Child

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
Forgive me for picking nits (being a nitpicker) however this recipe says it's a Lemon Cake with Lemon Filling and Lemon Butter Frosting. Am I the only one who doesn't see any lemon in the actual cake recipe? I added lemon juice to the cake recipe and the whole thing was out of this world.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 339) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cupcakes

See how to make light, lemony cupcakes from scratch.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States