Lemon Cake with Lemon Filling and Lemon Butter Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
This cake was a disaster. The curd is good as is the frosting, but the cake itself was so heavy and dense. I made it three times following the recipe to the ounce. The cake must of weighed 5lbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
Driest cake ever! This cake was awful and very time consuming/labor intensive. Followed the recipe exactly as written. Wish I had not wasted my time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoria Merwin

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
I have made this three times and my family loves it. It is very lemony. I like the texture of the cake, though some may think it too dense. The only thing I did different is made a little extra frosting to be sure there was enough for a crumb coat (whic you definitely need) and for piping....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
This is certainly one of the best cakes I have ever tried. I didn't have time to refrigerate any of it for 3 hours, so I used lemon curd from England for the filling. The cake was amazing. I also added lemon zest to the cake and a box of dry vanilla pudding mix. I kept the icing as it is originally. I'd make it with the described filling if I didn't have excellent lemon curd. The resulting cake is small, but just right for eating up in a few days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by missrochester
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
Wow!! This cake is Excellenr! Moist not to dense The Absolute best texture!! I dont even like lemon an I love this cake! I did use cake flour had some extra blackberries so i decided to add them in yummy!!! I didnt use the recipe frosting I just whipped up some homemade whipped cream omg! The Bomb!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
I made only the frosting from this recipe to frost coconut cupcakes. It was really easy and delicious! I added another small squeeze of the lemon into the frosting after I had mixed it up, because I wanted a little more tartness to counter the sweetness of the coconut. It was really easy to spread, and frosted 22 cupcakes. After frosting the cupcakes, I topped them with toasted coconut. They were fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Stafford, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
i used whipped cream with lemon zest and juice for the topping, ... overall its a great recipe , especially the filling
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
I made exactly as directed and it came out perfect. As others mentioned, you have to make the filling first and fridge for three hours so plan ahead. I baked four thin cake rounds instead of trying to cut two in half. I also made double the frosting but only needed maybe 1 1/2, felt like a waste throwing all that out. I almost detoured from the recipe and added lemon to the cake as i noticed it was a white cake, but I'm sure glad i didnt because the icing and the filling were very lemony by themselves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JMANNING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
I added lemon juice to the cake and a little extra to the frosting, subbed flour for the cornstarch and it came out super tasty! I only let the filling set for an hour and a half in the freezer, stirring it every so often before I put it on the cake for times sake, it came out just fine. I was very happy with it and put a little on some meringues I had on hand from the egg whites (didn't wanna waste em), it was super tasty there too. My boyfriend's friends all loved the cake and demanded more when I made it for them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kundra

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
This was an easy tasty frosting to make. I made it for some Lemon cupcakes and they compliment each other perfectly. Not too lemony, just the right hit. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 341) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Lemon Cupcakes

See how to make light, lemony cupcakes from scratch.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States