Lemon Cake with Lemon Filling and Lemon Butter Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
The lemon filling was beyond perfect! The icing was also quite delicious! The cake itself came out dense and dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KLAUDIA47

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by vatech90
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
I added a little lemon zest and fresh lemon juice to the cake mix and some lemon extract to the icing but other than that I followed the recipe exactly. It was wonderful! It was so light and fresh tasting and not overly lemony (even with the extra lemon flavoring). One hint: let the filling set the entire 3 hours! Don't rush this step... take it from one who knows.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vatech90

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fishersville, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
This was a bit too lemony but still quite good. I will half the amount of lemon juice in the filling next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
I made these into lemon-filled cupcakes...yum! The lemon filling is SUPER lemony. I made the frosting without the lemon zest and juice; instead, added some of the lemon filling to the frosting for adequate lemon flavoring. I will definitely make these again but with a little less lemon juice in the filling next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
I baked this cake and follow the exact recipe. The cake and frosting taste really good but the filling was absolutely horrible. Tasted to much like egg- more specifically yoke. I ended up scraping the filling and throwing it out. Filled it with a jam instead. I would make it again but fit it with something else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
Delish!!! My husband is NOT a cake kind of guy. He is a pie guy...lemon merengue to be specific. But our 4 year old insisted that Daddy have a cake for his birthday. So this cake, I thought, might be the best of both worlds. I was right! He LOVED it! Now, here are some things I might suggest. I used cake flour instead of all-purpose flour. I checked after 20 minutes, not 30 minutes, and they were done. For those who have dense or dry cakes, try the cake flour and be sure to test after 20 minutes. Also, as the recipe suggests, when adding the milk and flour to the batter, mix only long enough until consumed. Otherwise you'll overmix it and it will come out dense/dry.I replaced vanilla extract with lemon extract too. While the layers were thin, I still was able to cut them in half. I used a sharp, serrated knife and it was fine. Also, for those of you who found the icing too sweet, try using 2 1/2 to 3 cups of powdered sugar instead. I used 3 and found it absolutely sweet enough. I also took the recommendations of other reviewers and put 1 tablespoon of lemon juice and 3 of milk instead of 2 and 2 as the recipe calls for. The lemon custard filling is DIVINE! Yes, it's tart but it's perfect. I didn't use half for each of the layers as called for in the recipe but enough to generously cover the tops. The leftover my husband enjoyed eating with a spoon! Thank you thank you thank you for sharing this recipe...it made everyone in my family happy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
**This review is for Lemon Butter Frosting ONLY** I used the frosting with my white cake and it's very delicious. The fresh lemon juice and zest smell very refreshing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
This turned out perfect! I made it into a yellow and pink lemonade cake. The filling was the best. I used another recipie for the frosting, a buttercream recipie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meadow Brady

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Alma, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
This turned out beautifully! I made it in a bundt pan, 350 for about 50 min, so that I could cut it into more than 12 pieces easily. Since it could end up a disaster, I cut it into 3 layers - using the lemon curd on the 2 inside layers and all the frosting on the outside. I added a few drops of lemon food coloring - it was for my 2 year old son's birthday, and he asked for a "yellow cake"! Maybe because it was a bundt I had more than enough frosting, and it was quite sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn Park, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Elk River, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
This was AMAZING! We picked our own lemons and zested and juiced everything fresh. I was astounded at the taste and texture of this cake! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tigard, Oregon, USA
Living In: Rexburg, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 339) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cupcakes

See how to make light, lemony cupcakes from scratch.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States