Lemon Butter Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 4, 2009
These are the lightest most delicated little cookies... I made them just a bit thicker than suggested and added 1 tbsp more lemon juice to the recipe... They turned out excellent.... I did however try the original recipe first and thought that it needed something extra for my taste but overall a GREAT little cookie....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wiggins, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
The cookies were great and simple to make. I love lemon flavor so I used the juice of small lemon and an extra teaspoon of the lemon zest. The cookies were perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
After reading the reviews I still tried the recipe sans lemon or vanilla extract. Instead I increased the lemon zest to 1 tablespoon. I rolled the dough out to 1/8" and baked for 10 minutes without using the sugar coating. The consistency was great; I got a nice golden color around the edges. I drizzled the cookies with an icing made from ~ 1 cup confectioner's sugar, 1 tbsp. lemon juice and ~ 1/4 tsp. lemon zest. I let the icing dry (about 1 hour) before stacking for storage. My daughters gave them a double thumbs-up for taste. Most of the flavor intensity came from the icing instead of the cookie. Remember that it's a lemon and butter cookie, and I tasted a good balance of both from my procedure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane Guzauskas Ruby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
This recipe is a waste of time, energy, and ingredients. The cookies turned out bland and doughy. The cook times and temperatures are completely off, and I was using an oven thermometer. I am going to use a reliable Betty Crocker lemon buttercream frosting to try to salvage these cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2008
Easy to make. Simple directions. I found that the lemon taste is too subtle though. Next time I would add more lemon juice or zest. It also took a long time for my cookies to turn brown. Not sure why but it was way more than the 8-10 minutes it says. They are definitely tasty though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
In the oven now...! I really hope they come out well because they made my fridge smell really nice! They look, so far, beautiful! Cant wait to eat these later tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
Very good and very easy....I added some lemon extract.....will make again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2007
I was searching for a light butter cookie to serve with home made raspberry sorbet. This recipe sounded good, but turned out just "ok" .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
Not gonna make these again they tasted awful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2007
AWESOME!! the lemon taste is very good but not too tart. Very big hit! Also good with a lemon cream cheese frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Butter Cookies II

See how to make a delicious butter cookie that’s truly versatile.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States