Lemon Butter Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
I just made a batch of these cookies and they were not good. I followed the recipe exactly, but the resulting cookies were undercooked and bland. They were not crisp, nor lemony enough, and were barely buttery. Sorry! I also had to leave them in the oven for an additional 8 minutes and I only got a total of 14 cookies...which actually worked out for me because I do not like these cookies at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yoli

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
Although it technically classifies as a cookie, I found this recipe to be lacking the sweet stuff. Next time, I'll be doubling the sugar. Otherwise nicely textured with a great lemon flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MorganW

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
Easy and tasty treat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oceanminded78

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
Tried making these exactly as stated. I have a very small kitchen, so I do not have room to roll out dough. I scooped by teaspoonfuls and then pressed with a sugar-coated glass to between 1/8-1/4 inch thickness. Made exactly as many cookies as recipe stated. However, with stated cooking temps and times these cookies burned to smitherines! Even after I moved the oven rack all the way to the top...one batch was in there for 3 minutes and the bottoms still burned! The ones that were edible were tasty crispy little guys, but definitely not worth making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abbey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manchester, Iowa, USA
Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
We really think these are great cookies. Just the way we like them, subtle and not too sweet! I didn't have a lemon, so I took another reviewer's suggestion and used 1tsp. each of lemon extract and vanilla. I was also impatient. Instead of chilling and rolling, I scooped little balls onto the cookie sheets and used a drinking glass covered with a damp cloth to smash them down. After cooking and cooling, I tossed them in powdered sugar. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
Thank you SO much for posting this! The cookies are fabulous and I have been looking everywhere for a simple lemon roll out cookie. Wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2009
If you like a cake like cookie, this is for you. I added lemon extract to my dough and the lemon flavor really came out. I was looking for a thin, crispy cookie but these turned out really well and very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rachaelp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
These are the lightest most delicated little cookies... I made them just a bit thicker than suggested and added 1 tbsp more lemon juice to the recipe... They turned out excellent.... I did however try the original recipe first and thought that it needed something extra for my taste but overall a GREAT little cookie....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wiggins, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
The cookies were great and simple to make. I love lemon flavor so I used the juice of small lemon and an extra teaspoon of the lemon zest. The cookies were perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
After reading the reviews I still tried the recipe sans lemon or vanilla extract. Instead I increased the lemon zest to 1 tablespoon. I rolled the dough out to 1/8" and baked for 10 minutes without using the sugar coating. The consistency was great; I got a nice golden color around the edges. I drizzled the cookies with an icing made from ~ 1 cup confectioner's sugar, 1 tbsp. lemon juice and ~ 1/4 tsp. lemon zest. I let the icing dry (about 1 hour) before stacking for storage. My daughters gave them a double thumbs-up for taste. Most of the flavor intensity came from the icing instead of the cookie. Remember that it's a lemon and butter cookie, and I tasted a good balance of both from my procedure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane Ruby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Butter Cookies II

See how to make a delicious butter cookie that’s truly versatile.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States