Lemon Butter Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
Dough was way too sticky to roll out and the cookies were rather flavorless and bitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
I have been baking cookies for many years, and know some of the "tricks' to fix a dough. These cookies, in my opinion, should have been baked at 375, instead of 350. I baked each batch for over 14 minutes, and they still didn't brown. They tasted doughy, and bland. I tried to add a lemon icing, which only helped a little. I was looking for a light, buttery cookie, and this was not it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
I recently purchased a few extra lemons and was at a lost as to what to do with them. I tried your recipe, and was extremely happy with the results. They were delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
I made this last week. It was fabulous!! I added almond dice (because I am a fan of almond!!) and the cookies turned out to be very crunchy inside. For decoration, I didn't use any granulated sugar, but instead put dried cranberry in the middle. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs.rudy

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
I am a huge fan of most anything lemon! However, these did not come out anything like what I was expecting! First of all the dough was too sticky for me to roll it out, even after adding a lot more flour. I ended up pressing it flat with my finger tips. After cooking them, the taste was not what I was looking for at all. The sugar on top did not seem to help much, but maybe some frosting would help. I'm not sure if I did something wrong or what, but I do not plan to make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth Ann Monroe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
I thought these cookies were great. It was the perfect combination of lemon and butter. I did not chill for 2 hours because I just don't have the patience, so I dropped teaspoon size balls onto the baking sheet and they came out round and delicious! I experimented by dipping half of each cookie in chocolate which was a fabulous idea....lemon and chocolate are a perfect match!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cotati, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Maggie-Cat
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
YUM! As a big lemon dessert person, I search high & low for decent lemon cookie recipes (no cake mix!!), and this one was a winner! It's still a tad soft and just lightly cakey in the center, but the edges were crisp and the flavor was really good. I followed the recipe as is, except I did not roll them out, just spooned them in sparse teaspoonfuls. I did put sugar on the tops, too. I usually prefer the lemon flavor to be more pronounced, but the light, delicate lemon flavor in this went well with it being a "butter cookie", so I really can't complain. I decided to make a simple, easy glaze to top them. I put about 1/4 cup of sugar in a glass mixing cup, added just enough lemon juice to barely wet it, then microwaved for 1 min 10 seconds, till bubbly. then I stirred in about 1.5 oz of cream cheese and mixed w/a fork until the cream cheese was blended through. The lemon cream cheese glaze really amped up this cookie, give it a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maggie-Cat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
I made these for a friend who LOVES anything lemon. The cookie was melt in your mouth delicious. I also topped off with lemon glaze. Made these very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by andrea
Living In: Camp Verde, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
even better with a lemon icing, but easy and delicious. i used a cookie press for these, they were very appreciated by my guests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moneyCuz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by raspberry_waffles
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
These were pretty good. I used lemon glaze and yellow sprinkles also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by raspberry_waffles

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Butter Cookies II

See how to make a delicious butter cookie that’s truly versatile.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States