Lemon Bundt Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2002
Absolutely EXCELLENT! I glazed mine with a mixture of 1/4 c. softened butter, 1/4 c. lemon juice and 2 c. powdered sugar. Also, I had to increase the baking time by 10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
262 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2004
Be careful when buying your cake mix - if you get one that already has pudding in the mix it will take considerably longer to bake. The top will get quite brown, but cook until the batter no longer wiggles when you nudge the bundt pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
211 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2001
I took this to a party and everyone raved about it! I changed the baking temperature to 350 F and added a lemon glaze (2 TBS fresh lemon juice, 1 tsp grated lemon peel, and 2/3 cup sifted powdered sugar whisked together and drizzled over warm cake after it cooled 10 minutes and I removed it from the bundt pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
138 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2006
I've never rated a recipe a "1" before, but this deserves it: it's nasty. I LOVE lemon and was so excited to make this cake from all the great reviews. Needless to say, I was extremely disappointed by the recipe. I'm blaming it all on the soda. I used Sierra Mist, but I doubt Sprite or 7 Up would have created a better result. The whole cake had this weird chemical taste ... ugh, like I said, nasty. My advice is to modify "Lisa's Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cake" recipe using lemon cake mix and pudding mix, omitting the chocolate chips and adding a couple tablespoons of lemon juice. I did this the day after making this disgusting cake (because I was REALLY craving lemon cake) and it turned out simply delicious. No chemical weirdness, MUCH moister than this cake because that recipe uses sour cream, basically, just a million, trillion times better. I don't know how ya'll loved this so much, but i STRONGLY recommend using that other recipe instead!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2002
This cake got rave reviews, especially for the fact that it is very moist. I added fresh raspberries around it and in the middle then made a lemon glaze which I poured over the whole thing, then powdered sugar. It was very tasty, I have never tasted a lemon cake I liked as well. If you like lemon cake, you'll love this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
Since I used a yellow cake mix, I added some grated lemon zest and about 1/2 tsp. lemon extract to the batter. Even tho' it was very good, I thought it was a tad too oily and next time would reduce the oil to 1/2 c. I made a glaze of the juice from one lemon, and powdered sugar. Can't wait to try this recipe using a white or yellow cake mix, vanilla pudding, root beer and root beer extract!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2007
This cake turned out moist and delicious because I read others opinions about a potentially chemical taste I became worried. When I did my toothpick test to see if it was ready the uncooked portion tasted chemically. I made 3 other different cakes for my party and never put this one w the others. two days later I figured I taste it before throwing it out. The cake was delicious! With the soda and all I followed the recipe exactly, so I'll go with the majority, it is perfect try it yourself. Oh I didn't even have icing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sharon b

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cookies
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
I reduced the oil to the cake mix amount of 1/2C. I think 3/4C of oil is way too much. I added some poppy seeds (personal preference to lemon cakes)but other than that I followed the recipe exactly. When I tested for doness at 35min. The cake FELL. Completely flattened! Thats the first time EVER that has happened to me. So at 35 min. the cake was not done but very brown. I baked another 20 minutes for doneness. Please note that the bake time is 325 but I did a 350 oven for almost an hour. Also, this has an artificial lemon taste and has NO tangy Zip taste of lemons. Needs real lemon juice instead of the carbonated drink that I believe is leaving a bad tingly after taste in my mouth. Sorry but thumbs down to everything about this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookies
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2006
I used a yellow cake mix, and added a little lemon extract because I didn't have a lemon cake mix in my pantry. I baked it in a cake pan with a daisy design all over it. I sprinkled powder suger over the finished product. It is beautiful, and my picky kids love it. It is very moist and the flavor is great. Angela
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
Wonderful-I've made this recipe a dozen times already and everyone I know asks for it at every party. I have found the cooking time extends about ten minutes. Don't use mountain dew- I just tried that and it changed the taste dramatically as well as the texture and color. Dew has more sugar and caffine so I found sprite or 7 up is best. I always top it with a cream cheese icing- Blend 4T fresh lemon juice, 4 oz cream cheese, and 2 cups powdered sugar until smooth- drizzle all over cooled cake. Add thinly sliced lemons around the edges on your cake plate and voila! Beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 273) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States