Lemon Bundt Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2007
This was fabulous. Using sugar-free products will produce a chemical taste. If you are going to use a cake mix, you might as well use the regular soda and pudding because the calories are going to be there regardless. Also, adding premade instead of fresh squeezed lemon juice will alter the flavor. I've made twice now and had great results both times. My girlfriend tried to "diet it up" and got the chemical tasting problem. Make it as directed and there shouldn't be any problems...you might have to add 5 or 10 minutes to the cook time though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2007
This cake turned out moist and delicious because I read others opinions about a potentially chemical taste I became worried. When I did my toothpick test to see if it was ready the uncooked portion tasted chemically. I made 3 other different cakes for my party and never put this one w the others. two days later I figured I taste it before throwing it out. The cake was delicious! With the soda and all I followed the recipe exactly, so I'll go with the majority, it is perfect try it yourself. Oh I didn't even have icing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sharon b

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2007
Very good and very easy. I was worried about the "chemical after taste" that was mentioned by some of the reviews, but I didn't notice any kind of after taste besides a sweet lemony one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms. Pie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2007
Very Good. I tried my first one with applesauce instead of oil - it tasted okay, but wasn't nearly as good as the second time. I didn't have any lemon-lime soda with the second one, but I had some Mt. Dew - it was WONDERFUL. I got lots of compliments on it at my daughter's 12th birthday party. Will make again. I did add a glaze to it of lemon juice & powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2007
I get so many request for this cake its unreal. Excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SERENEKIM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2007
Really great and it didn't last long at my house! The only substitution I made was unsweetened applesauce for the oil. I melted a little lemon icing for a quick glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
A good lemony, moist cake. My husband loves this cake and it is so easy to make. Actually, this recipe (minus the soda) is on the Duncan Hines lemon cake mix box. I leave out the soda and sometimes add a little fresh lemon juice and zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2007
This was easy to make and yummy! It's very moist and melts in your mouth - thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
This is the most awesome lemon cake. I made two for a birthday party. By the time I got home I had four messages from friends asking for the recipe. I made another one for my family the next day. Definately a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Verona, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
I ADD 1 TBLS. LEMON ZEST AND 1/4 CUP LEMON JUICE TO THE BATTER WHICH ADDS MORE ZING!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RONNIE5

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Staunton, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 111-120 (of 275) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States