Lemon Bundt Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2007
I adjusted the baking time like the other reviews said, but besides that it was WONDERFUL! I even used a little Sprite in the glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2007
The cake was very moist and lemony. Everyone loved it. I didn't add the pudding mix as the cake mix already contained pudding. I also added a touch of lemon zest. I will probably make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yakima, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
I consider myself an experienced cook having cooked professional for several years, and until this recipe have NEVER had a cake fall. But, fall it did, just like in a movie. I stuck the toothpick in to test it and poof! I don't know what happened. Maybe it was the soda. The taste was okay. Nothing spectacular, just okay. I have made the "diet cakes" before where you take a cake mix and just add a can of diet soda (any kind you like). They never fell either. I am glad it worked for some people, but I won't be making it again. I'll stick with the recipe for Orange Cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2007
This was a very nice moist cake. I didn't think it was anything extraordinary, but I've never had lemon cake before. It was very easy to make and I used Mountain Dew instead of lemon/lime soda as others suggested. I didn't detect any kind of chemical taste as some reviewers have stated. This cake took about 55 minutes to bake using a convection oven. I always thought convection ovens baked things faster? Overall a nice moist cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2007
W*O*W!! This is wonderful! Used Mt. Dew. Very moist. Only using this recipe from now on!! Thanks SO much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2007
Absolutely divine! My 4 year-old couldn't stop eating it! Just say, "Lemon cake" and he starts licking his lips! I just added 15 minutes to the time and melted a container of lemon frosting in the microwave and drizzled over the cake! Used fresh raspberries to garnish which tasted great with the cake! Will make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CNLCARTER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ewa Beach, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Evans, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2007
I read almost all of the reviews before making this cake, and it came out wonderful. I used 2 suggestions: 1.) I used Mt. Dew instead of lemon lime soda since I only had diet Sierra Mist on hand and 2.) This cake definetly took more than 35 minutes, but I was prepared. It took me approximately 50 minutes. I also used a little of the Mt. Dew and powdered sugar to make a glaze, that worked out well too. I did no detect a chemical taste like other reviewers had mentioned. I'm thinking that this basic recipe could work with almost any liquid and a box cake mix, like for example a chocolate cake mix and maybe a cup of brewed coffee. I think I'll try that one next. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2007
My stepson's favorite is lemon bundt cake. His grandmother who is now deceased and whom I didn't get the chance to meet used to make it for his birthdays. Soo, the pressure was on. I followed the recipe exactly and it was a HUGE success for his 22nd Bday...Grandma Minga would have been proud!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2007
This was fabulous. Using sugar-free products will produce a chemical taste. If you are going to use a cake mix, you might as well use the regular soda and pudding because the calories are going to be there regardless. Also, adding premade instead of fresh squeezed lemon juice will alter the flavor. I've made twice now and had great results both times. My girlfriend tried to "diet it up" and got the chemical tasting problem. Make it as directed and there shouldn't be any problems...you might have to add 5 or 10 minutes to the cook time though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2007
This cake turned out moist and delicious because I read others opinions about a potentially chemical taste I became worried. When I did my toothpick test to see if it was ready the uncooked portion tasted chemically. I made 3 other different cakes for my party and never put this one w the others. two days later I figured I taste it before throwing it out. The cake was delicious! With the soda and all I followed the recipe exactly, so I'll go with the majority, it is perfect try it yourself. Oh I didn't even have icing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sharon b

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 273) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States