Lemon Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
When grading the lemon, I let the juice run in to add more lemon flavor. I added chocolate chips instead of nuts! The resipe made 8 mini loafes :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by devsmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
I think some reviewers didn't read the recipe properly- the lemon juice is for the glaze, not the bread. The zest (rind) is for the bread. I really enjoyed this bread, the glaze is fabulous! I will make again and double the rind amount- I didn't find the bread to have enough lemon flavor to it. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Show Low, Arizona, USA
Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gitano
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
Like other reviewers suggested, I added more lemon juice (2/3rds of a cup) and increased the flour by 2 tbsp. Very lemony flavour and a very dense, moist bread, I did have to bake mine longer though. I skipped the glaze too. One small detail that is missing in the directions...it does not say WHEN to add the lemon juice, I added it after I creamed the shortening/sugar and eggs and BEFORE the adding the milk, otherwise that much lemon juice would have curdled the milk instantly. Good recipe and thanks for providing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gitano

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 17, 2009
Good but not fantastic. The glaze melts. I made it a second time and waited til the bread cooled before added the glaze. Still, the glaze did not harden (like icing). Will try another recipe from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
I doubled the recipe and made one loaf and 12 muffins. I agreed with a previous reviewer that the bread was baked in about 45 minutes. I added the juice of 1/2 lemon to the batter. I also used powdered sugar to make an icing instead of a glaze. Still gives that "lemony" kick without being sticky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LUVPINK11

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Gratiot, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
I thought this was a very good lemon bread; however, next time I will definitely add more lemon zest to the batter and I think a glaze made with powdered sugar would be better (this kind turned out way too runny for me). With some tweaking I think this could be a great recipe for lemon bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rd_sparrow
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
Turned out very well. The lemon I had was small/medium and so I used two instead of one. This added a more lemon note which my family enjoyed. I also used confectioner sugar for the glaze instead of white sugar. The final piece was beautiful and very moist. Note: This could be outstanding with a thicker icing instead of just the lemon sugar glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rd_sparrow
Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
Great recipe! I added more lemon zest, and used confectioners sugar to make a frosting instead of the glaze. It turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
Very, very, good! I just had a slice of this and it has such a tangy lemon flavor (what I was looking for), although I atribute that mostly to the glaze (I used juice of 2 lemons & added slightly more than 1/2 cup sugar), but overall taste is yummy! I too also added extra lemon zest and used butter instead of shortening. Mine was also ready at 45 min (could've even taken it out at 40 as the sides & bottom were a little overdone). Question: should it have risen even to the 9x5 pan? Mine rose about 1/2 inch at it's highest point from the initial batter height. Still good, will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
why anybody would want to ingest shortening I don't know. Shortening is disgusting as there is nothing remotely healthy or tasty about it to me, someone who puts his health first. However this recipes got a lot of reviews and I needed to bake something for a friend. I siubbed the shortening for butter. The bread did not rise however previously I have had this experience baking banana bread and I believe the cause is not creaming the butter and sugar FIRST then adding the eggs one at a time, not as it is written above (creaming sugar, butter and eggs together). Could the reason also be because the baking powder might have expired?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States