Lemon Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
Delicious, but I did make the following changes: 1/2 cup brown, 1/2 white sugars, added poppy seeds and squeezed a lemon into the batter after the milk was blended. I also added a half cup of wheat flour and just one cup of the white. High altitudes, add at least 10 minutes to your cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ehreng

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
Great! Never fails and everyone enjoys it. I make the glaze by using lemon juice and turbinado sugar. This gives it a really crunchy top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
its fast easy and very good ,made it froze in slices,great when needed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Alberni, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
The syrup is what really makes this lemon bread so good. The cake itself does not have a lot of lemon flavor but it's still very tasty. I did not add the nuts and it tasted fine. Next time I'll add some more zest and a little lemon juice for flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by goldie

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
The glaze tastes gritty with all that white sugar. It does not have enough lemon flavor, and it is not moist at all. Awful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bear, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
Have used this same recipe for nearly 30 years and it always gets rave reviews. One reviewer stated that recipe did not say when to add lemon juice so she added while creaming eggs/shortening. The recipe does NOT call for juice in the bread but used as part of the glaze. I poke holes in top of bread after baking and then spoon juice/sugar over top of loaf. Glaze soaks right into cake giving a nicy lemon flavour. If you prefer a tarter bread, add a small amount of juice or lemon extract to batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
My lemon- hating husband loved it. It has a pleasant tang without being mouth-puckering tart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
great recipe. I did make a change by accident. I squeezed a full lemon and added it to the egg ,butter and sugar mix before the milk. Then when I finished cooking the bread I looked back at the recipe and discovered that I did it wrong so I cut 1/2 a lemon with 1/2 the sugar to put over top. I also like butter better than shortning. My mistake made the bread so nice and lemony. It was wonderful. I just made another loaf. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
A little crumby instead of moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
This recipe was amazing and quite addictive. I made two small loaves so I could freze one to have on hand. he first loaf was gone almost instanly and the second one was gone the next day. I then had to make some for work and it was eating up instantly. Thanks for an amzaing recipe, this will be used often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States