Lemon Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Evie
Reviewed: May 14, 2013
My family LOVED this recipe! We enjoy lemon-just-about-anything, and this was so easy to put together. I did make some changes, using butter in lieu of shortening, and bringing the sugar/lemon juice glaze mixture to a low boil (dissolving the sugar more completely that way) before pouring it over the cake. I changed the lemon juice/sugar ratio, as well: 3T white sugar to 6tsp lemon juice. Mmmm! The smell alone is wonderful! The glaze makes a nice "crust", which adds a nice contrast to the delicate crumb texture inside the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Evie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
I made this bread for my husband to take to the office to share. I made two small loaves which still needed to bake for 40 minutes. I increased the lemon zest to a heaping tablespoon. I heated up the lemon juice and disolved only 1/4 cup sugar which was plenty of glaze for me. I thought it was wonderful and got rave reviews from my husband's office staff. I did have problems getting one loaf out of the pan, that one stayed home with me. NBaker
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
I used butter for the shortening, and it was excellent. Sweet and tart, and so moist. I leave the loaf in the pan when I pour the glaze over so it soaks in well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
It came out dry and hard
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sofia Jones

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monterrey, Nuevo León, Mexico
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
This was terrible. Too sugary and not enough lemon. I would skip the glaze and add lemon juice to the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mia Poulsen
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
Very good. Baked only for 40 min. and added extra lemon zest (from one whole lemon).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mia Poulsen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
I've made this bread a few times and it is always delicious. This time I cut the sugar down to 2/3 cup and substituted canola oil for shortening. I used orange extract, orange zest, and craisins. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
Delicious recipe. Very lemony and moist. The recipe lacks a few key instructions. The lemon juice should be added before the milk. Juice some additional lemons for the glaze. The glaze should be made with powdered sugar and poured onto the bread before you take the loaves out of the pans. Cool a bit and then take the loaves out of the pan to cool. I chopped the walnuts very fine. I have been searching for a recipe which would turn out lemony and moist this is the recipe. I did add the zest of two lemons to the recipe. PERFECT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
This is most excellent! A wonderful recipe, with a great flavor, and it's moist and fluffy. I did make a few changes, after scanning the comments. In case they help anyone else, here they are: 1) Lemon juice in the loaf itself. I know the directions call for the lemon juice to go into the glaze, but I wanted there to be more lemon flavor in the bread itself, too. So I did 1/4 cup milk and 1/4 cup lemon juice (but mixed the lemon juice first so the milk wouldn't curdle when it was added), instead of the 1/2 cup milk. You could probably add more juice if you want, but this worked for me. I was also a bit more generous with adding lemon zest. 2)Lemon glaze: If you don't have confectioner's sugar on hand (like me), just mix the sugar/lemon juice together while the loaf is baking so there's plenty of time for the sugar to melt. I also microwaved it to warm it up, and that helped the sugar dissolve. Poking holes into the bread also helped the glaze absorb into the loaf very nicely. 3) Sugar dusting: When I had glazed my loaves, I sprinkled the tops very lightly with sugar... a little sweet touch that also gives the loaves a yummy shimmer. 4) Mini loaf cook time: I made this into mini loaves as part of a birthday gift, so if you want mini loaves as well, baking them at 325 degrees for 40-45 minutes did the trick for me. Altogether a wonderfully flavored bread - thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
Delicious, but I did make the following changes: 1/2 cup brown, 1/2 white sugars, added poppy seeds and squeezed a lemon into the batter after the milk was blended. I also added a half cup of wheat flour and just one cup of the white. High altitudes, add at least 10 minutes to your cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ehreng

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States