Lemon Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
Delicious recipe. Very lemony and moist. The recipe lacks a few key instructions. The lemon juice should be added before the milk. Juice some additional lemons for the glaze. The glaze should be made with powdered sugar and poured onto the bread before you take the loaves out of the pans. Cool a bit and then take the loaves out of the pan to cool. I chopped the walnuts very fine. I have been searching for a recipe which would turn out lemony and moist this is the recipe. I did add the zest of two lemons to the recipe. PERFECT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
This is most excellent! A wonderful recipe, with a great flavor, and it's moist and fluffy. I did make a few changes, after scanning the comments. In case they help anyone else, here they are: 1) Lemon juice in the loaf itself. I know the directions call for the lemon juice to go into the glaze, but I wanted there to be more lemon flavor in the bread itself, too. So I did 1/4 cup milk and 1/4 cup lemon juice (but mixed the lemon juice first so the milk wouldn't curdle when it was added), instead of the 1/2 cup milk. You could probably add more juice if you want, but this worked for me. I was also a bit more generous with adding lemon zest. 2)Lemon glaze: If you don't have confectioner's sugar on hand (like me), just mix the sugar/lemon juice together while the loaf is baking so there's plenty of time for the sugar to melt. I also microwaved it to warm it up, and that helped the sugar dissolve. Poking holes into the bread also helped the glaze absorb into the loaf very nicely. 3) Sugar dusting: When I had glazed my loaves, I sprinkled the tops very lightly with sugar... a little sweet touch that also gives the loaves a yummy shimmer. 4) Mini loaf cook time: I made this into mini loaves as part of a birthday gift, so if you want mini loaves as well, baking them at 325 degrees for 40-45 minutes did the trick for me. Altogether a wonderfully flavored bread - thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
Delicious, but I did make the following changes: 1/2 cup brown, 1/2 white sugars, added poppy seeds and squeezed a lemon into the batter after the milk was blended. I also added a half cup of wheat flour and just one cup of the white. High altitudes, add at least 10 minutes to your cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ehreng

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
Great! Never fails and everyone enjoys it. I make the glaze by using lemon juice and turbinado sugar. This gives it a really crunchy top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
its fast easy and very good ,made it froze in slices,great when needed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Alberni, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
The syrup is what really makes this lemon bread so good. The cake itself does not have a lot of lemon flavor but it's still very tasty. I did not add the nuts and it tasted fine. Next time I'll add some more zest and a little lemon juice for flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by goldie

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
The glaze tastes gritty with all that white sugar. It does not have enough lemon flavor, and it is not moist at all. Awful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bear, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
Have used this same recipe for nearly 30 years and it always gets rave reviews. One reviewer stated that recipe did not say when to add lemon juice so she added while creaming eggs/shortening. The recipe does NOT call for juice in the bread but used as part of the glaze. I poke holes in top of bread after baking and then spoon juice/sugar over top of loaf. Glaze soaks right into cake giving a nicy lemon flavour. If you prefer a tarter bread, add a small amount of juice or lemon extract to batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
My lemon- hating husband loved it. It has a pleasant tang without being mouth-puckering tart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
great recipe. I did make a change by accident. I squeezed a full lemon and added it to the egg ,butter and sugar mix before the milk. Then when I finished cooking the bread I looked back at the recipe and discovered that I did it wrong so I cut 1/2 a lemon with 1/2 the sugar to put over top. I also like butter better than shortning. My mistake made the bread so nice and lemony. It was wonderful. I just made another loaf. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States