Lemon Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
I used butter for the shortening, and it was excellent. Sweet and tart, and so moist. I leave the loaf in the pan when I pour the glaze over so it soaks in well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
It came out dry and hard
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sofia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monterrey, Nuevo León, Mexico
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
This was terrible. Too sugary and not enough lemon. I would skip the glaze and add lemon juice to the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Miaka
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
Very good. Baked only for 40 min. and added extra lemon zest (from one whole lemon).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miaka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
I've made this bread a few times and it is always delicious. This time I cut the sugar down to 2/3 cup and substituted canola oil for shortening. I used orange extract, orange zest, and craisins. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
Delicious recipe. Very lemony and moist. The recipe lacks a few key instructions. The lemon juice should be added before the milk. Juice some additional lemons for the glaze. The glaze should be made with powdered sugar and poured onto the bread before you take the loaves out of the pans. Cool a bit and then take the loaves out of the pan to cool. I chopped the walnuts very fine. I have been searching for a recipe which would turn out lemony and moist this is the recipe. I did add the zest of two lemons to the recipe. PERFECT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
This is most excellent! A wonderful recipe, with a great flavor, and it's moist and fluffy. I did make a few changes, after scanning the comments. In case they help anyone else, here they are: 1) Lemon juice in the loaf itself. I know the directions call for the lemon juice to go into the glaze, but I wanted there to be more lemon flavor in the bread itself, too. So I did 1/4 cup milk and 1/4 cup lemon juice (but mixed the lemon juice first so the milk wouldn't curdle when it was added), instead of the 1/2 cup milk. You could probably add more juice if you want, but this worked for me. I was also a bit more generous with adding lemon zest. 2)Lemon glaze: If you don't have confectioner's sugar on hand (like me), just mix the sugar/lemon juice together while the loaf is baking so there's plenty of time for the sugar to melt. I also microwaved it to warm it up, and that helped the sugar dissolve. Poking holes into the bread also helped the glaze absorb into the loaf very nicely. 3) Sugar dusting: When I had glazed my loaves, I sprinkled the tops very lightly with sugar... a little sweet touch that also gives the loaves a yummy shimmer. 4) Mini loaf cook time: I made this into mini loaves as part of a birthday gift, so if you want mini loaves as well, baking them at 325 degrees for 40-45 minutes did the trick for me. Altogether a wonderfully flavored bread - thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
Delicious, but I did make the following changes: 1/2 cup brown, 1/2 white sugars, added poppy seeds and squeezed a lemon into the batter after the milk was blended. I also added a half cup of wheat flour and just one cup of the white. High altitudes, add at least 10 minutes to your cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ehreng

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
Great! Never fails and everyone enjoys it. I make the glaze by using lemon juice and turbinado sugar. This gives it a really crunchy top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
its fast easy and very good ,made it froze in slices,great when needed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Alberni, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States