Lemon Bread Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
I diverted a lot from this recipe, but there is nothing wrong with doing it as stated. I had purchased a loaf of "Apricot Cheese" bread from a holiday bazaar. Came home and it was dry. I was disappointed and wanted to still try something to make it yummy. I doubled this recipe and used the apricot bread. It had nuts in it and I decided to skip the raisins. Also when making the sauce I ran out of sugar so used some of the baking Splenda also and I didn't have a real lemon so used lemon juice from the fridge and then orange rind. Super yummy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael Dinsmore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
Loved the bread pudding. I would cut back some on the milk and the raisins. Pudding would definitely be more solid. Totally delicious. Will use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
I really didn't care for this recipe. The sauce is way too sweet and not lemony enough. I doubled the amount of lemon juice and it helped a little. The bread pudding was not that great either. I will keep searching for the perfect recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cassie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ontario, California, USA
Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
The bread pudding recipe is a very basic one, but the lemon sauce is what makes this really special. I used skim milk for the bread pudding, so mine needed to bake for 15 extra minutes, but it turned out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
Huh--I made this exactly as written and it never set. I extended the cooking time to about an hour and 15 minutes, but it was still runny. I will not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
This was so good I was scraping the last of it out of the pan. I did make a few modifications: I used 4 slices of bread (Safeway french worked great) instead of 3. I put the bread pieces in a pie tin and then sprinkled the raisins (I used currents) on top. I only used about 1/3 cup currents. (3/4 cup was WAY too many. ) Next time I would halve the lemon sauce because there was way more than needed. Deelish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
Anyone who knows me knows that one of my breakfast indulgences is french toast and since bread pudding is an extension of french toast, I made this for breakfast. This was crazy delicious. For breakfast though, I would change some things: I halved the butter in the milk but next time would omit, 1/4 cup of sugar in milk, but MOST important change: omit butter in lemon sauce. Usually I like to omit butter to make it lighter, but I have to admit butter tastes pretty good. Well, this was the first time it didn't. After the butter was added, the sauce tasted kinda gross. I had reduced the sugar to 2TB but b/c of the weird aftertaste of butter I added about 2 more TB of sugar. Then it was too sweet for my tastes but at least the yucky taste was gone. The bread pudding was so sweet with 1/2 cup of sugar that the sauce was practically necessary to temper the flavor. I wonder...how would it taste if I poured the lemon sauce over in the last 5 min of baking? I used 4 slices of whole grain sandwhich bread, might add a tad bit more milk next time. Raisins sunk to bottom but still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
Just perfect. I didn't change a thing - loved every bite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2008
Delicious! Love the lemon sauce!! Yes, a little bit extra lemon made it fabulous. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CATATWORK

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
Yummy! I doubled the recipe and used a 2 quart casserole dish, it only required an extra 5 minutes to bake. I did leave out the raisins since I don't care for them. The kids and the hubby gobbled it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerri Miller

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saginaw, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Lewis, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States