Lemon Bread Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
So yummy! I loved it. I added a couple drops of yellow food coloring to the sauce so it would look more lemony.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
OMG!!! This was so very good! I had a lemon bread pudding at a B&B but couldn't squeeze the recipe out of the chef. I can't believe I found this! This is so good! My entire family devoured it. I did use dried cranberries instead of raisin. So Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
Very good and easy! I added more lemon zest, and it came out great. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oceanside, California, USA
Living In: Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
Yummy! I doubled the recipe and used a 2 quart casserole dish, it only required an extra 5 minutes to bake. I did leave out the raisins since I don't care for them. The kids and the hubby gobbled it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerri Miller

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saginaw, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Lewis, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2008
Delicious! Love the lemon sauce!! Yes, a little bit extra lemon made it fabulous. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CATATWORK

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
Just perfect. I didn't change a thing - loved every bite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
Anyone who knows me knows that one of my breakfast indulgences is french toast and since bread pudding is an extension of french toast, I made this for breakfast. This was crazy delicious. For breakfast though, I would change some things: I halved the butter in the milk but next time would omit, 1/4 cup of sugar in milk, but MOST important change: omit butter in lemon sauce. Usually I like to omit butter to make it lighter, but I have to admit butter tastes pretty good. Well, this was the first time it didn't. After the butter was added, the sauce tasted kinda gross. I had reduced the sugar to 2TB but b/c of the weird aftertaste of butter I added about 2 more TB of sugar. Then it was too sweet for my tastes but at least the yucky taste was gone. The bread pudding was so sweet with 1/2 cup of sugar that the sauce was practically necessary to temper the flavor. I wonder...how would it taste if I poured the lemon sauce over in the last 5 min of baking? I used 4 slices of whole grain sandwhich bread, might add a tad bit more milk next time. Raisins sunk to bottom but still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
This was so good I was scraping the last of it out of the pan. I did make a few modifications: I used 4 slices of bread (Safeway french worked great) instead of 3. I put the bread pieces in a pie tin and then sprinkled the raisins (I used currents) on top. I only used about 1/3 cup currents. (3/4 cup was WAY too many. ) Next time I would halve the lemon sauce because there was way more than needed. Deelish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
Huh--I made this exactly as written and it never set. I extended the cooking time to about an hour and 15 minutes, but it was still runny. I will not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
The bread pudding recipe is a very basic one, but the lemon sauce is what makes this really special. I used skim milk for the bread pudding, so mine needed to bake for 15 extra minutes, but it turned out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States