Lemon Bread Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
I diverted a lot from this recipe, but there is nothing wrong with doing it as stated. I had purchased a loaf of "Apricot Cheese" bread from a holiday bazaar. Came home and it was dry. I was disappointed and wanted to still try something to make it yummy. I doubled this recipe and used the apricot bread. It had nuts in it and I decided to skip the raisins. Also when making the sauce I ran out of sugar so used some of the baking Splenda also and I didn't have a real lemon so used lemon juice from the fridge and then orange rind. Super yummy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael Dinsmore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
Loved the bread pudding. I would cut back some on the milk and the raisins. Pudding would definitely be more solid. Totally delicious. Will use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
I really didn't care for this recipe. The sauce is way too sweet and not lemony enough. I doubled the amount of lemon juice and it helped a little. The bread pudding was not that great either. I will keep searching for the perfect recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cassie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ontario, California, USA
Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
The bread pudding recipe is a very basic one, but the lemon sauce is what makes this really special. I used skim milk for the bread pudding, so mine needed to bake for 15 extra minutes, but it turned out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
Huh--I made this exactly as written and it never set. I extended the cooking time to about an hour and 15 minutes, but it was still runny. I will not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
This was so good I was scraping the last of it out of the pan. I did make a few modifications: I used 4 slices of bread (Safeway french worked great) instead of 3. I put the bread pieces in a pie tin and then sprinkled the raisins (I used currents) on top. I only used about 1/3 cup currents. (3/4 cup was WAY too many. ) Next time I would halve the lemon sauce because there was way more than needed. Deelish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
Anyone who knows me knows that one of my breakfast indulgences is french toast and since bread pudding is an extension of french toast, I made this for breakfast. This was crazy delicious. For breakfast though, I would change some things: I halved the butter in the milk but next time would omit, 1/4 cup of sugar in milk, but MOST important change: omit butter in lemon sauce. Usually I like to omit butter to make it lighter, but I have to admit butter tastes pretty good. Well, this was the first time it didn't. After the butter was added, the sauce tasted kinda gross. I had reduced the sugar to 2TB but b/c of the weird aftertaste of butter I added about 2 more TB of sugar. Then it was too sweet for my tastes but at least the yucky taste was gone. The bread pudding was so sweet with 1/2 cup of sugar that the sauce was practically necessary to temper the flavor. I wonder...how would it taste if I poured the lemon sauce over in the last 5 min of baking? I used 4 slices of whole grain sandwhich bread, might add a tad bit more milk next time. Raisins sunk to bottom but still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
Just perfect. I didn't change a thing - loved every bite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2008
Delicious! Love the lemon sauce!! Yes, a little bit extra lemon made it fabulous. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CATATWORK

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
Yummy! I doubled the recipe and used a 2 quart casserole dish, it only required an extra 5 minutes to bake. I did leave out the raisins since I don't care for them. The kids and the hubby gobbled it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerri Miller

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saginaw, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Lewis, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States