Lemon Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
This is really really good, but I made a few modifications to make it even better! I used fresh squeezd lemon juice, and added an extra 2 TBSP I took one cup of blueberries, blended them, and mixed it in (yuuuumm) I made a little bit extra of the glaze, and put a coating of it on the bread with 10min left in the baking. The zest soaks into the bread without making it mushy...I added the rest once the bread had cooled off a little bit after coming out of the oven. I recently did this, with some modifications to my diet (I'm now gluten free). It is not as fluffy as the original recipe, but it is still quite tasty. I also used stevia instead of sugar and although it needed some extra beating, it still blended well. Overall, it is now my specialty and my favorite thing to bake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mukilteo, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
So very yummy, this is a moist and delicious treat. I used real lemons for the juice and put 3 tablespoons of juice in the bread (instead of the recipes 2). The glaze really makes it, we love the tang of glaze with the sweetness of the bread. Will definately be making this one again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
This was an easy bread and glaze to make. I think it could use more lemon zest and more lemon juice to make it more lemony. The glaze was great, I used 3/4 c of powdered sugar to thicken it up. My husband loved it, I will make it again, but with more zest and juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shawna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Renee
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
Great Taste! This bread is very lemony and sweet. Adding 1 tbsp more powdered sugar to the glaze is a good idea. This recipe won't disappoint!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Indiana, USA
Living In: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
This recipe makes a smaller loaf (it doesn't rise a lot.) I made the following changes: juice from 2 entire lemons, only 3/4 cup of sugar, added chocolate chips, didn't make the glaze. Even with all of that lemon juice, we didn't feel it had a strong lemon flavor. It was, however, nice and moist, and I enjoyed it. I won't try it again, though, because I have noticed recipes with 2 cups of flour are the only loaves that get nice and big.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
Great lemon flavor. The texture was like cake--very light for a bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jo-in-mexico

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2012
Loved this Recipe! Hubby approved and eat most of it! Added extra of lemon juice to bread part of recipe. Glaze ran off somewhat, so next time will poke a few shallow holes in top of bread to catch all the wonderful glaze or will add extra powdered sugar to thicken it. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by azdiamond

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2012
I made it exactly as directed. Absolutley loved it. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LANAM76

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
The only issue I had was getting it out of the loaf pan. Mine would not come out. I finally got it out in pieces, which made putting the glaze on it weird. (I did grease the loaf pan). Otherwise, nice taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
I made thise into muffins instead of a loaf. Baked for 25 minutes and sprinkled with sugar before making rather than use the glaze. They came out wonderful. Made 12 muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States